FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 30)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

[q] att sim gt-i9300

Thanks Meter: 29
 
By Djinn23, Senior Member on 18th June 2014, 09:03 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello all.

I have had a friend give me a phone from China. This was already running CM10 when I got it and was the international version of the SIII . I have a work iPhone and took the ATT SIM out and placed it in it. I understand I cannot get LTE connection with this device... but the SIM did not appear to be recognized. I looked and there does not appear to be any unlock process for this phone with this software and I did not believe it was SIM locked as the owner told me he slapped regional SIMs in it when he traveled.

Does this imply hardware failure or am I missing something stupid here?

REgards/
 
 
19th June 2014, 09:56 AM |#2  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 810
 
More
Try different sims first.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to boomboomer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2014, 01:22 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Thanks for the reply
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer

Try different sims first.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk


Hey THanks for the reply. Any suggestions as to how I can try alternate SIMS. Shoudl I walk into ATT and ask they replace the SIM for my IPhone as it is not working in other phones or should I buy a smart talk prepaid SIM or something. Any suggestions. Sorry for the seemingly stupid questions.

Regards.
26th July 2014, 08:48 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer

Try different sims first.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

I tried two att sims with no lucka nd one tmo. I took it to a shop where theyb replaced the reade and still no dice. Technician claimed bad radio flash, but the networks are seen... seems like sim reader. The other thing I noticed is that the device says wcdma on in. I know the chia carrier is gsm and the phone is supposed to be. Any thoughts?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA Free mobile app
9th October 2014, 03:53 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
not to resurrect but....
So I have had some updates. I took it to a local shop who attempted to replace the reader and said that a new one had the same issue. I then spoke with my friend who gave it to me and he mentioned some CM issue with SIMs being recognized. I updated the ROM and it worked well for a couple of days. THen I started having intermittant instances of the same issue..... until it completely recurred again.

I have taken it appart and resat the connection (thinking the repair guy didnt do it well and maybe that was my issue) but had no differnt results. I have tried a new ROM (SlimKat) and a couple of Kernels. I have not gotten into modem flashing yet as I am still trying to parse and understand the data there.

The Repair guy thought the modem was misflashed and that the installer who flashed CM11 messed it up. He suggested getting a Stock carrier ROM on there. I thought he was full of it and did not know what he was talking about... esp considering there is no domestic (US) carrier image for the 9300.

Thoughts or options? I have an i747 that I have been using but it does not have an unlocked SIM yet and I have been struggling to make that happen (EVEN WITH A CARRIER PROVIDED CODE??!!!).


Thanks in advanced for any assistance/insight you can provide.


Regards

J
11th October 2014, 12:01 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 150
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djinn23

So I have had some updates. I took it to a local shop who attempted to replace the reader and said that a new one had the same issue. I then spoke with my friend who gave it to me and he mentioned some CM issue with SIMs being recognized. I updated the ROM and it worked well for a couple of days. THen I started having intermittant instances of the same issue..... until it completely recurred again.

I have taken it appart and resat the connection (thinking the repair guy didnt do it well and maybe that was my issue) but had no differnt results. I have tried a new ROM (SlimKat) and a couple of Kernels. I have not gotten into modem flashing yet as I am still trying to parse and understand the data there.

The Repair guy thought the modem was misflashed and that the installer who flashed CM11 messed it up. He suggested getting a Stock carrier ROM on there. I thought he was full of it and did not know what he was talking about... esp considering there is no domestic (US) carrier image for the 9300.

Thoughts or options? I have an i747 that I have been using but it does not have an unlocked SIM yet and I have been struggling to make that happen (EVEN WITH A CARRIER PROVIDED CODE??!!!).


Thanks in advanced for any assistance/insight you can provide.


Regards

J

Flashing CM doesn't touch the modem, most asop roms don't.
Try flashing stock which should reset everything.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes