Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,222 Members 45,560 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Different recovery

Tip us?
 
absinthe77
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2011
Default Different recovery

Hello I've install the ClockworkMod Touch Recovery 6.0.1.2 but he's different that the screenshots I've found on the web.

On mine I have this one :

reboot system nom
apply update from ADB
apply update from external storage
wipe datafactory reset
wipe cache partition
apply update from cache



So I can't see how I could install a new Rom from a Zip file for exemple, what is the problem ?
thanks for your answers.
 
boomboomer
Old
#2  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 672
Posts: 2,995
Join Date: Jun 2010
You have stock recovery, not custom. Either you didn't flash correctly or you have stock firmware which will restore stock recovery on each boot.

Go read the sticky threads as you are missing some basic knowledge.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

 
absinthe77
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer View Post
You have stock recovery, not custom. Either you didn't flash correctly or you have stock firmware which will restore stock recovery on each boot.

Go read the sticky threads as you are missing some basic knowledge.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Hello thanks for your answer. No I did the the flash correctly, but you're right I am on the stock firmware so it could be the reason !
In fact I wanted to install the Kitkat Slimkat on my S3, it's mean than I cannot do it ??
 
AlexVat
Old
#4  
AlexVat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 155
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Galati
Quote:
Originally Posted by absinthe77 View Post
Hello thanks for your answer. No I did the the flash correctly, but you're right I am on the stock firmware so it could be the reason !
In fact I wanted to install the Kitkat Slimkat on my S3, it's mean than I cannot do it ??
Try flashing PhilZ Recovery for SGS3. It's available in .tar format and you can flash it using Odin and selecting the .tar file in the PDA column. It worked perfectly for me

Goodluck!!

PS: it also supports JB + KK roms

Sent from my GT-I9300
Sent from my GT-I9300 in an invisible moment
 
absinthe77
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2011
Default It doesn't work

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexVat View Post
Try flashing PhilZ Recovery for SGS3. It's available in .tar format and you can flash it using Odin and selecting the .tar file in the PDA column. It worked perfectly for me

Goodluck!!

PS: it also supports JB + KK roms

Sent from my GT-I9300
Hello, thanks a lot for your answer. So I've tried the recovery you told me and it still the same ! my recovery doesn't change !
 
arsal_93
Old
#6  
arsal_93's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 217
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by absinthe77 View Post
Hello, thanks a lot for your answer. So I've tried the recovery you told me and it still the same ! my recovery doesn't change !
When flashing the Philz Recovery in Odin , untick the Auto Reboot option. After that take out the battery and start your phone in recovery mode.

Samsung S3 (Resurrection Rom Remix 4.4 with Boeffla Omni Kernel)
 
absinthe77
Old
(Last edited by absinthe77; 16th May 2014 at 11:56 AM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by arsal_93 View Post
When flashing the Philz Recovery in Odin , untick the Auto Reboot option. After that take out the battery and start your phone in recovery mode.

Samsung S3 (Resurrection Rom Remix 4.4 with Boeffla Omni Kernel)
Yes it works !! thanks a lot and have a nice day !
... I've rebooted my phone and my old Recovry is back
 
boomboomer
Old
#8  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 672
Posts: 2,995
Join Date: Jun 2010
Yes, as I said your firmware will replace the recovery each time you boot. Either replace your firmware with custom or live with stock recovery.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.

Nobody searches. Nobody reads the first posts or titles of threads. Nobody even looks at posts a couple above their own.

 
absinthe77
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer View Post
Yes, as I said your firmware will replace the recovery each time you boot. Either replace your firmware with custom or live with stock recovery.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Ok I tought my changes was définitve but not !
thanks again to you all

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more