Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Regular loss of signal after fixing phone

OP pnz

10th May 2014, 09:23 AM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnz

I think I've solved this. Used the repair NV data option (to fix broken baseband) in EFS Professional, and it seems to be working fine. Will see if it's still working after a few days though.

My best guess is that this was a file permissions error.

No, not fixed. Worked fine for a few days then the problem came back. Just tried a non-stock ROM (Omega) and same thing. Trying a CM-based ROM now (ParanoidAndroid), but not too hopeful.

Still don't understand why it works for hours/days, then suddenly stops. Rebooting it fixes it the first few times, then that stops working as well (and I get baseband unknown at this point). Flashing a new ROM always fixes it, for a few hours/days anyway.
10th May 2014, 10:38 AM   |  #12  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 749
 
3,396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Sounds like a hardware issue, possibly nand memory becoming corrupt hence why it works for a while on a fresh install.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to boomboomer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 12:29 PM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomboomer

Sounds like a hardware issue, possibly nand memory becoming corrupt hence why it works for a while on a fresh install.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Any workarounds you can suggest? Just had the problem happen again on cyanogenmod, so that didn't fix it.
10th May 2014, 12:56 PM   |  #14  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 749
 
3,396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Try reading the freezing thread in general forum, see if the memory test tool will compete after a full wipe and fresh install of a stock firmware.

Other than that only a new motherboard, as the emmc chip is damaged.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes