5,600,429 Members 32,751 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

RIL and modem problem! I9300 with Cyanogenmod 10.2 Stable!

Tip us?
 
VintilaMMM
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Constanța
Default RIL and modem problem! I9300 with Cyanogenmod 10.2 Stable!

Hello there! I have a i9300 with CM 10.2. Works really nice! I also have TWRP. I looked everywhere for a compatible modem and RIL set because original set (that came with the phone and was modified by CM) doesn't show my signal strength corectly (it is a HUGE number). I'm looking for an unbranded, Europe modem. Also, thanks for reading my first post!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
 
suyash1629
Old
#2  
suyash1629's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 251
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by VintilaMMM View Post
Hello there! I have a i9300 with CM 10.2. Works really nice! I also have TWRP. I looked everywhere for a compatible modem and RIL set because original set (that came with the phone and was modified by CM) doesn't show my signal strength corectly (it is a HUGE number). I'm looking for an unbranded, Europe modem. Also, thanks for reading my first post!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Whats your current modem? is it newer than XXEMG4? I might have one of XXELLA. If your one is XXEMG4 or newer than the one i have wont work..
 
VintilaMMM
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Constanța
This might be a nooby question, but where can I check?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
 
suyash1629
Old
#4  
suyash1629's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 251
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by VintilaMMM View Post
This might be a nooby question, but where can I check?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Settings>>About Phone>>Baseband version

I think you are new to here.. would be better to read Faqs and Guides First to Know about your device and do rest of the things else you will mess up with it..
The Following User Says Thank You to suyash1629 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Roymik
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Novara
As far as I know, you should flash a modem without Ril because Cm have his own, or you will end up with a No Signal..
The Following User Says Thank You to Roymik For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
VintilaMMM
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Constanța
I have flashed ROMs on my Samsung Galaxy S since 1 year so I know some stuff. I never worked with modems and RILs. I knew CM has it' s own RIL but I thought maybe it would work with other RILs too. My modem is XXLF5. Also, the modem you have is umbraded? Because my phone isn't bought from Orange, it's unbranded by default.

By the way, thanks for giving me tips! Much appreciated!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
 
suyash1629
Old
#7  
suyash1629's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 251
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by VintilaMMM View Post
I have flashed ROMs on my Samsung Galaxy S since 1 year so I know some stuff. I never worked with modems and RILs. I knew CM has it' s own RIL but I thought maybe it would work with other RILs too. My modem is XXLF5. Also, the modem you have is umbraded? Because my phone isn't bought from Orange, it's unbranded by default.

By the way, thanks for giving me tips! Much appreciated!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
sorry i don't have of xxelf5, and the one i have wont work with yours too

Sent from my GT-I9300
The Following User Says Thank You to suyash1629 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
VintilaMMM
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Constanța
Quote:
Originally Posted by suyash1629 View Post
sorry i don't have of xxelf5, and the one i have wont work with yours too

Sent from my GT-I9300
No problem! Thanks for your help!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
 
Roymik
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Novara
I have flashed BUEMC2 modem(no Ril) with cm 10.2 and it's all OK for me even if the Ril don't match with the modem, but I'm from Italy with Vodafone carrier.. Here is a list of modem+Ril for the i9300 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2076857
if you want only the modem, delete the System folder that is in the zip file.
The Following User Says Thank You to Roymik For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
VintilaMMM
Old
(Last edited by VintilaMMM; 9th December 2013 at 02:49 PM.)
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Constanța
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roymik View Post
I have flashed BUEMC2 modem(no Ril) with cm 10.2 and it's all OK for me even if the Ril don't match with the modem, but I'm from Italy with Vodafone carrier.. Here is a list of modem+Ril for the i9300 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2076857
if you want only the modem, delete the System folder that is in the zip file.
I'll look for a modem that suits my needs and post back the result! Thanks!

Edit: If I install a branded modem onto an unbranded device what will happen?

Edit 2: I installed BVELK1 branded to Orange (even if the phone is normally unbranded by default) and works fine! I'll keep testing and I'll decide if I keep this one or resume my search. Thanks a lot!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes