Post Reply

Root without computer

13th January 2013, 05:24 AM   |  #1  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Hi,

So I am wondering if it is possible to root the international S3 without a computer. I am running Swedish stock 4.1.1.

I am not new to android but I am new to xda. The reason I am asking is because I am currently backpacking in Australia and I need to root so I can get the latest update + fix a bunch problems.

With me I have a Asus transformer Eeepad if it helps at all wich I doubt.

Thanks in advance all you helpfull xda members.

Regards Reclused
13th January 2013, 05:28 AM   |  #2  
JediNinjafication's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Burbank, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,201
 
3,583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
If you have another device there is an app that can root from another phone... I'll look for it and post the link


Strange.. I have it installed but not showing anywhere for a link. Search root transmission here in the forums. You'll find it
*The Ninj-ESS*
Last edited by JediNinjafication; 13th January 2013 at 05:32 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to JediNinjafication For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2013, 05:37 AM   |  #3  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Thank you very much. You have saved me!!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 05:41 AM   |  #4  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Oh but the other devices are not rooted either :/ Any other idea's?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 06:30 AM   |  #5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,102
 
8,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reclused

Thank you very much. You have saved me!!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

How would you do that, rooting one device with another rooted device and not use Odin/Mobile Odin? Can`t think of a way right now.

---------- Post added at 07:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:28 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reclused

Oh but the other devices are not rooted either :/ Any other idea's?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

Imo impossible, you always need Odin to install SU and/or CWM. If you can run that from a tablet it is oke.

-EDIT- Here is the link http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2014121, but not for the international S3 atm, not supported yet.
Last edited by gee2012; 13th January 2013 at 07:05 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2013, 07:23 AM   |  #6  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Thanks a lot, I hope they figure it out soon for the international one.

The thing is that I want the latest update on my s3 but I can't get it OTA because it is "changed" status. So I figured I would root it and flash the latest stock version via mobile Odin. But can I root the TF101 without a computer and then use the root transmission perhaps? It has the latest version 9.2.1.27 ICS.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 07:28 AM   |  #7  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,102
 
8,462 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Check this forum http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1104, make sure it is for your model. I don`t have a tablet myself so can`t help you much there

Root your asus: see http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1366743
Last edited by gee2012; 13th January 2013 at 07:35 AM.
13th January 2013, 07:28 AM   |  #8  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Oh i saw u linked the root transmission app link sorry for misunderstanding. Okay it seems I'm ****ad... :/ Thanks for all your help. Anyways.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 07:54 AM   |  #9  
MsElise's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 790
 
2,251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Use exynos abused to root, just install the apk and click root

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to MsElise For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2013, 08:36 AM   |  #10  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by XeactorZ

Use exynos abused to root, just install the apk and click root

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

Thank you very much, where would I find that or what is it called.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes