FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Root without computer

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Reclused, Junior Member on 13th January 2013, 06:24 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi,

So I am wondering if it is possible to root the international S3 without a computer. I am running Swedish stock 4.1.1.

I am not new to android but I am new to xda. The reason I am asking is because I am currently backpacking in Australia and I need to root so I can get the latest update + fix a bunch problems.

With me I have a Asus transformer Eeepad if it helps at all wich I doubt.

Thanks in advance all you helpfull xda members.

Regards Reclused
 
 
13th January 2013, 06:28 AM |#2  
JediNinjafication's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Burbank, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,206
 
More
If you have another device there is an app that can root from another phone... I'll look for it and post the link


Strange.. I have it installed but not showing anywhere for a link. Search root transmission here in the forums. You'll find it
*The Ninj-ESS*
The Following User Says Thank You to JediNinjafication For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift JediNinjafication Ad-Free
13th January 2013, 06:37 AM |#3  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thank you very much. You have saved me!!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 06:41 AM |#4  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Oh but the other devices are not rooted either :/ Any other idea's?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 07:30 AM |#5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 4,038
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reclused

Thank you very much. You have saved me!!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

How would you do that, rooting one device with another rooted device and not use Odin/Mobile Odin? Can`t think of a way right now.

---------- Post added at 07:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:28 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reclused

Oh but the other devices are not rooted either :/ Any other idea's?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

Imo impossible, you always need Odin to install SU and/or CWM. If you can run that from a tablet it is oke.

-EDIT- Here is the link http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2014121, but not for the international S3 atm, not supported yet.
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gee2012 Ad-Free
13th January 2013, 08:23 AM |#6  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks a lot, I hope they figure it out soon for the international one.

The thing is that I want the latest update on my s3 but I can't get it OTA because it is "changed" status. So I figured I would root it and flash the latest stock version via mobile Odin. But can I root the TF101 without a computer and then use the root transmission perhaps? It has the latest version 9.2.1.27 ICS.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 08:28 AM |#7  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 4,038
 
More
Check this forum http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1104, make sure it is for your model. I don`t have a tablet myself so can`t help you much there

Root your asus: see http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1366743
13th January 2013, 08:28 AM |#8  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Oh i saw u linked the root transmission app link sorry for misunderstanding. Okay it seems I'm ****ad... :/ Thanks for all your help. Anyways.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 08:54 AM |#9  
IamRinny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 822
 
Donate to Me
More
Use exynos abused to root, just install the apk and click root

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to IamRinny For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift IamRinny Ad-Free
13th January 2013, 09:36 AM |#10  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XeactorZ

Use exynos abused to root, just install the apk and click root

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

Thank you very much, where would I find that or what is it called.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
13th January 2013, 09:55 AM |#11  
Reclused's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XeactorZ

Use exynos abused to root, just install the apk and click root

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

Omg it's done. I love you, you have my eternal gratitude.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes