Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,536 Members 52,930 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Root Problems/Disappeared?!

Tip us?
 
AJH101
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Question [Q] Root Problems/Disappeared?!

Hi I am running CM10.2 but Titanium Backup (amongst other apps) tells me I do not have root, even though it is enabled in Developer Options. I have tried rooting again via Odin and that 'passes' ok but still I have no root.

I can boot into recovery but cannot install the latest version of CM11. All very curious!

I wonder if anyone out there could suggest any solutions please?

Thanks very much! Very strange...
 
GIJS053
Old
#2  
GIJS053's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 369
Posts: 163
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Enschede

 
DONATE TO ME
Two suggestions: 1. Make sure you have the latest CWM or TWRP recovery (this is needed for 4.4.x
2. you go back to stock Samsung, then flash a recovery, then flash cm11 (root is included in the build if I'm right)
DU:
|| Github || Gerrit || G+ Community || IRC || Official Site ||

Me:
|| Site || G+ || Github
 
theronkinator
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 412
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
You don't need to root to flash another rom anyway.
HP Touchpad - jcsullins' CM10.1
Xperia U - Bootloader unlocked - Ported Sony JB
Galaxy S3 - Stock 4.1.2 ROM - Rooted - Xposed
Checkout my easy HP Touchpad Android installer:
[TOOLKIT] Touchpad Toolkit - Android automated installer
 
John723
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJH101 View Post
Hi I am running CM10.2 but Titanium Backup (amongst other apps) tells me I do not have root, even though it is enabled in Developer Options. I have tried rooting again via Odin and that 'passes' ok but still I have no root.

I can boot into recovery but cannot install the latest version of CM11. All very curious!

I wonder if anyone out there could suggest any solutions please?

Thanks very much! Very strange...

Please go through the link and see if this is helpful for you somehow..
http://www.gizmodo.co.uk/2013/03/how...g-galaxy-siii/
 
AJH101
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks for all your help guys. In the end I took the opportunity for a fresh install of cm11 m4. Nice and buttery

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Tags
i9300 root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes