Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] S3 and android screen lock security

OP ionblair

2nd April 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Hello!
I have a very specific question and don't know where to start looking.
When i look permissions for a specific app, then there is sometimes something like this: disable your screen lock
Does this mean that the app can disable screen lock and activate itself through lock screen?
I think if your screen lock is pattern based then it won't come through and when it's swipe based then it will work.
I want one specific app to be able to prompt itself through pattern based screen lock.
if i would use CyanogenMod and someone would change something in the code then it would be doable?
Funny thing is, that in Samsungs official android 4.1 it worked that way (and was in their words "a bug").
it's not working in andoird 4.3 anymore: bug fixed i guess. but i loved that bug.
2nd April 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #2  
VictorLapin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 312
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
AFAIK, only camera is able to bypass pattern or password lock.
2nd April 2014, 06:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by VictorLapin

AFAIK, only camera is able to bypass pattern or password lock.

the app is Estonian mobile personal idententification tool called mobiil-id
you can legally identify yourself in banks that way
when my screen security if set for pattern and when i try to authenticate somewhere, pin query comes through screen lock and i enter pin and phone does not unlock itself at all and goes back to sleep.
but when security is set for pattern, then i must unlock screen manually to enter pin. i can hear beep sound though.
probably should try to find some cm programmer who knows if there is a way to manually make some exceptions.
there is a possibility to compile your own cm and then deploy it. if it were some minor change, then i would do it myself with some help.
i know it's kinda security breach, which i'm willing to take.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes