Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,032 Members 51,341 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] S3 device memory full (like totally!) but can't find the files?

Tip us?
 
Jumaqidi
Old
#11  
Jumaqidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 186
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Widdly View Post
I guess so... As much as I love android, it still is rather odd that on google android, with a stock samsung phone, upgraded by samsung ota, I need to root it to clean up a mess probably made with a google service... I'll never go Apple, but this wouldn't happen on an iPhone. Otoh, if it did I'd really be sol. Walled up, bunkered in iOS won't let you do anything.

Well, at least I have an idea where to look now.

Thanks all!

I'll go find a rooted kernel and a stock one to get back.
Did you see wat happened to the ios 7 update? Apple screwed it up. Did you see wat happened to apple maps? Apple screwed it up too. Oh. Ios 7 coppied from windows, android and other mobile phones.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Jumaqidi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Widdly
Old
#12  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amersfoort
I actually own an ipad 4. Didn't notice any more discomfort than usual on it after the iOS 7 update. Yes, there was a bug fix or two, but I had no problem.

Neither do I have a large picasa stash so my phone is fine while my wife's exact same phone is gasping for air. But probably my phone has these stray files cluttering the space as well, but since there aren't as many, I don't notice.

Keep running into walls on the iPad, though, cause of the apple prison. It's a magnificent piece of hardware, but apple treats their customers as infants and most of them seem to love it. I guess if you have no qualm with only doing what the prison guards let you...

I have it for the music apps. Music reading apps, remote control of the digital mixer for my monitor mix. Those things aren't available on android or all the apples in my house would be edible.

I especially hate the absence of Swiftkey on iOS. Or anything similar. Apple keyboard is so stupid. Such a waste of fantastic hardware ...no apple fan here.

But consider this: here we have a google os, being completelly filled up with files by a google service called picasa, and the only way to get rid of it is breaking the warranty on a three month old phone. Or shipping it back to the store where my wife will be going without for weeks. She is an MD, needs it for patient calls away from her own office. Being without a phone for weeks is not an option. It's ridiculous.
 
Jumaqidi
Old
#13  
Jumaqidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 186
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Widdly View Post
I actually own an ipad 4. Didn't notice any more discomfort than usual on it after the iOS 7 update. Yes, there was a bug fix or two, but I had no problem.

Neither do I have a large picasa stash so my phone is fine while my wife's exact same phone is gasping for air. But probably my phone has these stray files cluttering the space as well, but since there aren't as many, I don't notice.

Keep running into walls on the iPad, though, cause of the apple prison. It's a magnificent piece of hardware, but apple treats their customers as infants and most of them seem to love it. I guess if you have no qualm with only doing what the prison guards let you...

I have it for the music apps. Music reading apps, remote control of the digital mixer for my monitor mix. Those things aren't available on android or all the apples in my house would be edible.

I especially hate the absence of Swiftkey on iOS. Or anything similar. Apple keyboard is so stupid. Such a waste of fantastic hardware ...no apple fan here.

But consider this: here we have a google os, being completelly filled up with files by a google service called picasa, and the only way to get rid of it is breaking the warranty on a three month old phone. Or shipping it back to the store where my wife will be going without for weeks. She is an MD, needs it for patient calls away from her own office. Being without a phone for weeks is not an option. It's ridiculous.
Picasa though I have nvr used it, I suppose it works the same way as dropbox? The files dun actually take up place in the phone. And picasa pictures definitely doesn't take up gbs of space.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
 
Widdly
Old
#14  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amersfoort
I thought so too. But the phone says there's 10gb worth of photos and videos on it and I can't find it.

Picasa is all I can think of with this phone. I'm extremely sure my wife didn't take this much photos in three months or at all. Come to think of it, I can't even imagine she had that much in picasa. We do have pretty large Dropbox accounts, but her account doesn't have much photo's. Mine does. I put our entire photo collection on there in my account which is not shared with hers.

I hope I get some time today to root her phone and finally see what it is. I hope I can undo the rooting damage with CF's triangleaway app.
 
Jumaqidi
Old
#15  
Jumaqidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 186
Posts: 1,054
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
I thought so too. But the phone says there's 10gb worth of photos and videos on it and I can't find it.

Picasa is all I can think of with this phone. I'm extremely sure my wife didn't take this much photos in three months or at all. Come to think of it, I can't even imagine she had that much in picasa. We do have pretty large Dropbox accounts, but her account doesn't have much photo's. Mine does. I put our entire photo collection on there in my account which is not shared with hers.

I hope I get some time today to root her phone and finally see what it is. I hope I can undo the rooting damage with CF's triangleaway app.
I alr said dropbox do not use ur phone memory even though ur dropbox acc is large. I have over 20 gb used. And my phone is not even half full and it is only 16 gb internal no external. Picasa works the same way as dropbox too. The pics is in the server, not ur phone.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
 
Widdly
Old
#16  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amersfoort
Quote:
Originally Posted by JellyYogurt View Post
I alr said dropbox do not use ur phone memory even though ur dropbox acc is large. I have over 20 gb used. And my phone is not even half full and it is only 16 gb internal no external. Picasa works the same way as dropbox too. The pics is in the server, not ur phone.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
And I said I believed that too. At least I used to.

But unavoidably there is 10Gb of files on the phone.which the storage says are photos and videos. Storage then puts you through to the gallery, where the greatest number of pics by far were in the picasa folders. It's the only place I can figure out where they could have come from. There's nothing else on the phone! And the DCIM folder is empty.

Apparently there is no way to root it and unroot it again without wiping the phone or setting of some protection or counter.... So, whichever way my wife is faced with needing to reinstall and/or configure all her apps again, which will be another couple of hours. She is about fed up with this on android. She had a sgs1 and an sgs note before, and this is the so-many-est time something is wrong with an android phone. If it happens again I'm going iPhone, she says.


Anyway, ill phone the store tomorrow. I don't want to risk the warranty in case anything more serious happens to it. They better tell me what to do.
 
Widdly
Old
#17  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amersfoort
Thought I'd let y'all know, a factory reset cleared it all up. Her photos and whatsapp messages and some other stuff are gone, but it isn't a big deal. It's a couple of hours work to get the phone back to where it was. Which is a drag. But the phone is nice and clean again now.

So glad I didn't need to root and flash stuff.

Thanks for all the help and I hope this might help others.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more

Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more

Give Your Android Wear Device a Lock Screen with Lockable

Without a doubt,Android Wear is one of the most frequently talked abouttopics of … more