Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,899 Members 49,950 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] S3 GT-I9300 4.1.2 unlocker or downgrader

Tip us?

klutchmeister
Old
(Last edited by klutchmeister; 8th January 2014 at 09:51 AM.) Reason: Updated question
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Unhappy [Q] S3 GT-I9300 4.1.2 unlocker or downgrader

I've searched far and wide but nothing actually helped. I hope someone here can shine some light please.

Hi, I am from the Philippines and I am a noob. My S3 GT-I9300 is a locked JB 4.1.2, and I need to unlock it because I want to install custom roms in it. Unfortunately I can't find anyway to unlock it. I read from somewhere that I should first downgrade to 4.1.1. Unfortunately still, I can't find anything that can help me downgrade to 4.1.1. I tried looking for downgrade tools and stock 4.1.1 firmwares to use with odin, but i've found nothing.

Please don't direct me to threads that makes me enter a code then main menu, umts, debug screen, etc. I tried it about 92.4 times. Doesn't work because it only works on 4.1.1, which is why I'm wanting to downgrade.

Help me, please? Thanks in advance.

boomboomer
Old
Thanks Meter 672
You refer to sim network lock? If your 4.1.2 rom was EMG4 or higher then there is no way to downgrade, efs partition format was changed to prevent user unlock.

If you have a backup of your efs, from before 4.1.2 was flashed, then you could restore the partition and unlock.

But you would then be stuck with 4.1 roms, before EMG4. Updating to a newer firmware will again network lock the phone.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Note: This quote doesn't automatically apply to everyone, decide for yourself if it might apply to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justruss View Post

What has this place become?

It's essentially a few people graciously answering the same repeating of immature, lazy, demanding questions from the masses.