Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

New S3 International - Error 7 while trying to flash first Cyanogen Rom

OP EvilRadish

23rd January 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Heres what I have done so far

- Rooted Phone
- Flashed TWRP 2.3.3.0
- Downloaded latest nightly rom
- Factory Reset
- Install rom


It starts the install and then flashes up an error 7. I then have to do a restore to get the phone usable again. Did not see this error in forum and wondered if anyone knew anything about it?

Thanks in advance.
23rd January 2014, 03:07 AM   |  #2  
chrismast's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 448
 
1,960 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilRadish

Heres what I have done so far

- Rooted Phone
- Flashed TWRP 2.3.3.0
- Downloaded latest nightly rom
- Factory Reset
- Install rom


It starts the install and then flashes up an error 7. I then have to do a restore to get the phone usable again. Did not see this error in forum and wondered if anyone knew anything about it?

Thanks in advance.

not sure if it is connected to it, but did you try with Philz latest CWM based recovery? I heard that TWRP has problems with new Android versions.
23rd January 2014, 07:26 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Use Philz latest CWM based recovery
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilRadish

Heres what I have done so far

- Rooted Phone
- Flashed TWRP 2.3.3.0
- Downloaded latest nightly rom
- Factory Reset
- Install rom


It starts the install and then flashes up an error 7. I then have to do a restore to get the phone usable again. Did not see this error in forum and wondered if anyone knew anything about it?

Thanks in advance.

Use Philz latest CWM based recovery and Please follow the steps to install,

1. Wipe Factory Reset
2. Wipe Dalwic Cache
3. Install the ROM
4. Wipe Dalwic Cache
23rd January 2014, 08:17 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Thanks for the info!

Is it fine just flashing a new recovery over the current one?
23rd January 2014, 08:26 AM   |  #5  
kunal1540's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag City of oranges
Thanks Meter: 359
 
756 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilRadish

Thanks for the info!

Is it fine just flashing a new recovery over the current one?

Yes it is go ahead.. Latest Phil's is having some problems... I would suggest 6.0.08 version of Phil's...

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
23rd January 2014, 08:44 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Pullman WA
Thanks Meter: 241
 
709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
If you update your TWRP install to the latest version, (2.6.3.1), you'll be able to flash CM11 with no problems.
23rd January 2014, 01:25 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
My issues are now resolved. I thought I would post for anyone else who finds themselves in this situation.

I used the Samsung Galaxy GS3 Toolkit to root my phone. The issue with this was that both options for recovery were out of date!

I flashed the latest clockwork mod and worked perfectly.



Thanks everyone that posted for your assistance!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
error
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes