Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,145 Members 36,129 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Samsung Galaxy S3 connected to WiFi but no internet connectivity

Tip us?

opiuz
Old
(Last edited by opiuz; 17th July 2012 at 09:38 PM.)
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Default Samsung Galaxy S3 connected to WiFi but no internet connectivity

sup everybody.

firstly, i am a wireless expert (11+ years experience) so im not a nuubie to Wireless networks.

but i am new to Android and have just recently gotten an S3, so im hoping some body can help me.

i have an 802.11n wireless hop that connects my upstairs network to my downstairs network (internet router is downstairs)
upstairs i have an 802.11b/g access point for the older devices to connect to, this access point is connected to my 802.11n bridge

my laptop connects to the 802.11b/g network fine, and has internet connectivity (no issues)

when i first got the S3 last night, it was connecting fine as well, but since this morning, no matter what i do, the S3 connects to the access point, gets DHCP, i can ping the IP address, but it doesnt have net access, but if i connect to the 802.11n network it gets net access.

so for the life of me i cant figure out why.

so in a nutshell net access works from the laptop, but not the S3, same access point, and yes ive checked the WPA2 passkey, and the device is getting DHCP.

any suggestions.

like how to reset the IP address on the S3

freebordjunky
Old
Thanks Meter 180
Tried restarting your rooter?

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9300 mit Tapatalk 2
My android history: SE x10mini cm7 1 x 800MhZ --> SE Xperia Neo cm7 1 x 1GhZ --> Galaxy Nexus AOKP 2 x 1,2 GhZ --> SGS 3 Jelly Beaned 4 x 1,4 Ghz Nexus 4 4 x 1,5 Ghz (Bricked) --> , Nexus 4 4 x 1,5 Ghz---> Galaxy Note 3 CrashRom 4 x 2.3 -GHz----> Moto X 2 x 1,7 Ghz Motorola x8 Mobile Computing System

opiuz
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Quote: