Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Did my phone just SDS?

OP k-semler

14th May 2014, 04:20 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pullman WA
Thanks Meter: 234
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
I was running my phone perfectly fine, and when I turned off the phone to replace the battery, it won't turn back on at all. The Samsung logo just loops repeatedly, and I can't get into Recovery mode at all. I can get into download mode, (sort of), by the conventional means, but when I press volume up to confirm download mode, I can't do so. The phone hangs for a second, and then restarts its self. Is this SDS? How do I get it fixed? I am in the USA, and I have a SGS III i9300. My phone information is below in my signature.
14th May 2014, 05:36 AM   |  #2  
Jumaqidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 190
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by k-semler

I was running my phone perfectly fine, and when I turned off the phone to replace the battery, it won't turn back on at all. The Samsung logo just loops repeatedly, and I can't get into Recovery mode at all. I can get into download mode, (sort of), by the conventional means, but when I press volume up to confirm download mode, I can't do so. The phone hangs for a second, and then restarts its self. Is this SDS? How do I get it fixed? I am in the USA, and I have a SGS III i9300. My phone information is below in my signature.

If it is sds, you wun be able to turn it on at all. Best if you can just send it to the service center for them to have a look.
14th May 2014, 05:44 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Kernel problem maybe? Try a different one.
14th May 2014, 05:50 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pullman WA
Thanks Meter: 234
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
OK, it appears that I can get it into download mode if I run it off of USB power, and pull the battery as soon as I'm able to get into download mode. It will run in download mode if I keep the battery out, but as soon as I put a battery in with it plugged into a USB, it resets the phone. I was able to flash XXUGMK6_BTU onto the phone, but upon resetting the phone with the battery in it, it will not start. This is with both ZeroLemon batteries, and the stock Samsung battery.

Is there a way to fix this?
14th May 2014, 05:51 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pullman WA
Thanks Meter: 234
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JellyYogurt

If it is sds, you wun be able to turn it on at all. Best if you can just send it to the service center for them to have a look.

That's what I was afraid of. I called Samsung, and they said that I would have to send it to the UK in order to get it fixed. I would rather not have to send it halfway around the world for repairs if I don't have to.
14th May 2014, 06:38 AM   |  #6  
Jumaqidi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 190
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by k-semler

That's what I was afraid of. I called Samsung, and they said that I would have to send it to the UK in order to get it fixed. I would rather not have to send it halfway around the world for repairs if I don't have to.

It makes no sense to send it to the UK just to fix it. What country do u live in?
14th May 2014, 09:03 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 955
 
4,316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Might be stuck power button?
14th May 2014, 09:23 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pullman WA
Thanks Meter: 234
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JellyYogurt

It makes no sense to send it to the UK just to fix it. What country do u live in?

The United States of America.
14th May 2014, 09:25 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pullman WA
Thanks Meter: 234
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack_R1

Might be stuck power button?

I don't think it's that. Otherwise, how would it work running off of USB power? If the power button was stuck, I don't think it would run at all.
14th May 2014, 09:40 AM   |  #10  
boomboomer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 749
 
3,404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Sounds like a motherboard issue, double check that the battery connector pins are undamaged, but otherwise you need a new motherboard.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes