5,595,339 Members 48,165 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TUTO] Dead screen, rooted phone, how to remote control

Tip us?
 
ploquets
Old
(Last edited by ploquets; 21st January 2014 at 10:17 PM.)
#1  
ploquets's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Uruguaiana, RS

 
DONATE TO ME
Wink [TUTO] Dead screen, rooted phone, how to remote control

Hello!

First of all, I want to say that even though I'm describing a simple process, it was quite hard to find the answer for me.

I'm a SGS3 International Version (i9300) user and a few days ago I was at work, using flashlight on my device.
Suddenly I did drop my phone and the screen got cracked and the LCD too, making my device locked and from that point I couldn't see my messages, I couldn't backup my apps with Titanium Backup and, well, I needed to speak with a lot of people on Whatsapp. So, I decided to look for a answer at the internet.
I had a pattern lock screen, and I tried to remove the lockscreen with the steps to write on settings.db with sqlite but, no go.

I tried everything. I was using Temasek build with CM11 as base.
It was difficult to go into the phone. I had use the Android Screencast ( from code.google.com/p/androidscreencast ) but, I was only able to see what was on the screen, but with no interaction.

So, here is the best way to get into the phone, when you are ROOTED (IMPORTANT) and USB Debugging enabled:
(NOTE THAT ALL YOUR PHONE DRIVERS [adb drivers] SHOULD BE ALREADY INSTALLED)


Go to Google Play and download from there the app:

droidVNC Server


If you don't have any data enabled, then go to: APK DOWNLOADER
Paste the URL
Code:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.onaips.vnc
And download the app.

Open a prompt command, go to your adb folder, type:
Code:
adb install "type your downloaded apk path"
Go to your notepad app, and create a script with the follow commands:

Code:
adb devices
adb forward tcp:5901 tcp:5901
adb forward tcp:5801 tcp:5801
adb shell /data/data/org.onaips.vnc/files/androidvncserver
Save inside your adb folder with a name like: VNC.bat
Note that I'm running Windows.
If you have another OS, then, run line by line or make your own script.

Now, you can click and run VNC.bat
It will appear a screen saying:
Code:
Waiting for a connection

NOW, it's almost done!!!
Indeed, you just have VNC working on your phone and, with the script you just made some ports to forward to your localhost.
So, you wont need any router or to be connected to a router.
Will be faster than Wireless connection.

So, download any VNC viewer you prefer:
I did use the Real VNC Viewer: Download Here

You will see a screen like this:



Type exactly what you see above:

Code:
localhost:5901
And you are good to go!!!

Now you can swype your pattern lock screen and see whatever you would see with your smartphone screen!

See ya!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Real.jpg
Views:	883
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	2524888  
The Following User Says Thank You to ploquets For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
wallerius
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hello

Wow - if I could get this to work I would be very glad!

Followed your instructions but get the "error: Device not found, -Waiting for device-" message when I try to install the downloaded APK

I have a SG2 and screen is totaly dead, but when I turn it on I ca nhear the sound playing and the meny buttons have lights. So I now it's working

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks
/Walter
 
ploquets
Old
(Last edited by ploquets; 21st January 2014 at 01:40 PM.)
#3  
ploquets's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Uruguaiana, RS

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallerius View Post
Hello

Wow - if I could get this to work I would be very glad!

Followed your instructions but get the "error: Device not found, -Waiting for device-" message when I try to install the downloaded APK

I have a SG2 and screen is totaly dead, but when I turn it on I ca nhear the sound playing and the meny buttons have lights. So I now it's working

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks
/Walter
Have your device been rooted?
And... with USB Debugging enabled?

If it has... so, you just need to wait for your device to became fully loaded (after boot) and plug your USB cable.
Than, if your USB Debugging is enable for real, open Command Prompt and go to your ADB folder.
Type
Code:
adb devices
It should appear one device at least, something like the image attached:



If does not appear, then USB Debugging is probably off under your developer settings.

Hope I could help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	adb-devices.png
Views:	180
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	2528925  
 
a.fontenele
Old
#4  
a.fontenele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 170
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sao Paulo

 
DONATE TO ME
Great work man!

I hope I never need it, but it's good to know where to find some help...
 
wallerius
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ploquets View Post
Have your device been rooted?
And... with USB Debugging enabled?

If it has... so, you just need to wait for your device to became fully loaded (after boot) and plug your USB cable.
Than, if your USB Debugging is enable for real, open Command Prompt and go to your ADB folder.
Type
Code:
adb devices
It should appear one device at least, something like the image attached:



If does not appear, then USB Debugging is probably off under your developer settings.

Hope I could help!
Thanks again

I am almost 100% sure it is on, but I get nothing. I think it might be the drivers that causing this.

tried it with my rooted N7 2nd gen and it worked. When I plugged it in, the PdaNET plinged and said something like "device ready". I dont get that when I plug in the SG2.

If USB not enabled - is it totaly lost then?

/W
 
ploquets
Old
#6  
ploquets's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Uruguaiana, RS

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallerius View Post
Thanks again

I am almost 100% sure it is on, but I get nothing. I think it might be the drivers that causing this.

tried it with my rooted N7 2nd gen and it worked. When I plugged it in, the PdaNET plinged and said something like "device ready". I dont get that when I plug in the SG2.

If USB not enabled - is it totaly lost then?

/W
Well, sure you need to have your drivers installed...
But, if you are rooted... then "supposedly" you already have the drivers installed.

I had one problem though that could be your case:
I had to wait about 2 minutes from turning it on until it shows up. And sometimes I needed to pull out the USB cable and replug it again.
Check your Device Manager (on Windows) if it shows up).

You can try that. If none of this works, than either the USB Debugging option is disabled or your cable is not functional.
Unfortunately, if it is the case, I really don't know what answer to you.
 
wallerius
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ploquets View Post
Well, sure you need to have your drivers installed...
But, if you are rooted... then "supposedly" you already have the drivers installed.

I had one problem though that could be your case:
I had to wait about 2 minutes from turning it on until it shows up. And sometimes I needed to pull out the USB cable and replug it again.
Check your Device Manager (on Windows) if it shows up).

You can try that. If none of this works, than either the USB Debugging option is disabled or your cable is not functional.
Unfortunately, if it is the case, I really don't know what answer to you.
Thanks again for your answer

When I find some more time I will have it another go. Otherwise I think I will but an used SG2 and replace the screen. Since the phone have some years now, the used ones are pretty cheap (much cheaper than buying a new screen that is)

I would even settle with a cracked screen - as long as I ca naccess it and copy my data/SMS/MMS etc etc

Thanks again
/W

---------- Post added at 10:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:22 AM ----------

Yay!

it worked, well...I got passed the "adb device" thing. I pluged out the battery, and reconected the USB and then it poped up.

But when I try to install I get this error

"/sbin/sh: pm: not found"
 
ploquets
Old
(Last edited by ploquets; 23rd January 2014 at 10:56 AM.)
#8  
ploquets's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Uruguaiana, RS

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallerius View Post
Thanks again for your answer

When I find some more time I will have it another go. Otherwise I think I will but an used SG2 and replace the screen. Since the phone have some years now, the used ones are pretty cheap (much cheaper than buying a new screen that is)

I would even settle with a cracked screen - as long as I ca naccess it and copy my data/SMS/MMS etc etc

Thanks again
/W

---------- Post added at 10:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:22 AM ----------

Yay!

it worked, well...I got passed the "adb device" thing. I pluged out the battery, and reconected the USB and then it poped up.

But when I try to install I get this error

"/sbin/sh: pm: not found"
Take a look at this thread HERE
It might have the answer
 
wallerius
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ploquets View Post
Take a look at this thread HERE
It might have the answer
Yepp, I had managed to start the phone in some sort of "recovery mode". But the funny thing is this;

When I did so my PC managed to locate the phone correctly and I could identify it with the "adb devices" command.

But when I restarded the phone (hearing the Samsung tone - knowing it started correctly) I cant use the adc command (and no ping/notification from PdaNet)

Very odd
 
ploquets
Old
#10  
ploquets's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 40
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Uruguaiana, RS

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallerius View Post
Yepp, I had managed to start the phone in some sort of "recovery mode". But the funny thing is this;

When I did so my PC managed to locate the phone correctly and I could identify it with the "adb devices" command.

But when I restarded the phone (hearing the Samsung tone - knowing it started correctly) I cant use the adc command (and no ping/notification from PdaNet)

Very odd
So, it did not worked? Probably USB Debugging is not enabled.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Add Swipe Utilities to Your App with SimpleFingerGestures Library

Gestures have become an increasingly important element in smartphone UI … more

Android App Review: Lock it Down with Lockdown Pro – XDA Developer TV

Our smartphones are our lives. They store our contacts, emails, … more

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more