Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,145 Members 45,271 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unable to boot - Stock firmware

Tip us?
 
Spinkzeit
Old
(Last edited by Spinkzeit; 1st November 2012 at 02:34 AM.)
#1  
Spinkzeit's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne
Exclamation Unable to boot - Stock firmware

Hey guys,
I decided to start my phone with a clean slate and un-root it via installing the stock firmware I9300TDUALF2_I9300TVAUALF2_VAU

I've done this before and it's never been a problem, but now my phone will not start up properly. It gets to the Samsung flashing logo in the boot animation and just stays there forever (literally).
I tried 2 (from sammobile & androidromupdate) other different Australian firmwares and still the same thing.

I've flashed CF-Root on the phone, booted up into recovery and installed a few different custom ROMs but the same problem occurs, it just stays put on the boot animation for eternity.

Normally I'm able to work out this sort of thing but I'm at a loss this time

Any ideas?

EDIT: Forgot to mention,
#1.) The startup sound plays during the boot animation if that makes a difference.
#2.) I've tried flashing it from 3 different PC's, with both Odin v1.8.5 and v.3.07
#3.) When I flashed Foxhounds ROM, The whole install ran through fine (Aroma) so I don't think this is a file integrity issue.
EDIT EDIT:
#1.) The phone feels warmer than usual (not hot, just warm, warmer than it normally is when idling) during the infinite boot animation
 
hero000
Old
#2  
hero000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 817
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In my bedroom
Hmm I was going to say flash different ROM via odin. Since you have done it already. Can you try flashing different and rooted rom. See how ya go. Make sure the rom you download match the md5. I always face such issues but re flashing helps. Download any other rom copy to external memory. Since you have access to recovery. Flash via recovery. Good luck.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
XDA is my permanent home now!!!


You can download My selective Nature wallpaper from here
 
Spinkzeit
Old
#3  
Spinkzeit's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by hero000 View Post
Hmm I was going to say flash different ROM via odin. Since you have done it already. Can you try flashing different and rooted rom. See how ya go. Make sure the rom you download match the md5. I always face such issues but re flashing helps. Download any other rom copy to external memory. Since you have access to recovery. Flash via recovery. Good luck.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
Shall do thanks
It's hard finding a ROM that offers a .tar/.md5 version though? Any recommendations?
I'm also in the process of downloading "Rescure Firmware" to give that a shot - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...35&postcount=6
 
zoot1
Old
#4  
zoot1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,451
Posts: 2,651
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Navi Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Boot into recovery and wipe data/factory reset

sent from here, there, somewhere!!

Blog: ||mygalaxyway.blogspot.com|| One stop location for GS3 guides
 
hero000
Old
#5  
hero000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 817
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: In my bedroom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinkzeit View Post
Shall do thanks
It's hard finding a ROM that offers a .tar/.md5 version though? Any recommendations?
I'm also in the process of downloading "Rescure Firmware" to give that a shot - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...35&postcount=6
Well most of the devs put the md5 along the download links. I use Wanam Rom. It's fast and stable. Download if you like. The md5 is given too. http://wanamlite.com/forums/showthread.php?tid=13141

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
XDA is my permanent home now!!!


You can download My selective Nature wallpaper from here
 
Spinkzeit
Old
#6  
Spinkzeit's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoot1 View Post
Boot into recovery and wipe data/factory reset

sent from here, there, somewhere!!
Wow. This worked, thank you kindly sir.

Such a simple fix..
 
lockmunk
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 162
Join Date: Jul 2010
your phone really I9300T?
 
Spinkzeit
Old
#8  
Spinkzeit's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockmunk View Post
your phone really I9300T?
I don't believe so, got it from a Telstra store when they came out.

Tags
galaxy s3 borked
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Stream Your Media Files with the New Version of Droid Sync Manager

Android is a Linux-based operating system, but this fact doesn’t put … more

Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more