Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,457 Members 41,498 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Urgent! Sudden Rapid Battery Drain, Please Help!

Tip us?

JJEgan
Old
Thanks Meter 4,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Becky_x View Post
Help anyone, please?
Better Battery |Stats Thread .

hundred_miles_high
Old
(Last edited by hundred_miles_high; 1st February 2014 at 12:30 AM.)
Thanks Meter 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Becky_x View Post
Okay, I charged overnight and unplugged and switched on this morning. Not touched it since except to press the button to check for missed calls/texts when I came back home.

91% after 7 hours

What am I looking for on these battery stats and wakelock apps I've never used them before
Hi, sorry for the slow reply, have been a mucho busy puppy for the last few days

To be honest 91% after 7 hours on standby isn't exactly shocking as it's only little over 1% per hour battery use in standby.

However, here is a screenshot from my WakeLock Detector App:

The time next to each app shown is how long that particular app has kept your phone from being in deep sleep, the smaller number at the far right of each app entry is how many times the app has woken the phone (not necessarily turning on the screen, just doing stuff like background sync)

Basically you are looking for apps with a high wake time (in my case K9 is by far and away the worst culprit) if you have any/many that are keeping the phone awake for more than a few mins then they would be possible culprits to investigate for excess battery use as the time shown doesn't include the duration that the app is running while the phone is in use.

If you find any that look properly suspicious it may be worth, freezing / disabling / uninstalling them for a day or two (assuming you can manage without them and they are not system apps) and see if things improve any.