Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,526 Members 50,350 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wifi to Mobile data switch over

Tip us?
 
Moadeeb77
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bristol
Default [Q] Wifi to Mobile data switch over

Hi everyone,

Apologies if this is found elsewhere, I have tried to narrow down what it is I am looking for but never seem to get a definitive answer.

Basically I want to know what part of a rom is responsible for controlling the switch over from wifi to mobile data.

I have tried many different roms and modems and nothings seems to work. I am constantly walking in the front door of my house to find my phone going nuts because its just gotten a data signal.

I have a 5gb mobile data package and its driving me crazy that I can't use it reliably. I have donated to many different developers over the years and would never complain, I think the work you guys do is amazing - currently rocking the latest stable archidroid!!

All I am saying is that no matter what Rom or modem I use I have to turn my phone into airplane mode and back again to get it to pickup the moble data, why??

Thanks in advance
 
JJEgan
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4417
Posts: 23,037
Join Date: Oct 2010
!!ALL QUESTIONS GO IN THE Q&A FORUM!! OR THEY MAY BE DELETED


Please use the red report button and ask a mod to move the post.
 
jinosong
Old
#3  
jinosong's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 979
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seoul
It's your router, not the rom.
 
Moadeeb77
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bristol
Please read things properly before commenting. It could not be my router.
 
Moadeeb77
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bristol
To help clarify what it is I need help with.

There is nothing wrong with my router!!!

There is something wrong with my phone because it works perfectly on home wifi.

It will not switch over to mobile data when I take it outside. It refuses to pick up the mobile signal unless I put it into airplane mode and back again or do a reboot.

Please can someone tell me where the problem might be? I never ask for help and have searched all the forums and can find nothing to help.
 
JJEgan
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4417
Posts: 23,037
Join Date: Oct 2010
Suggest wipe phone install stock rom and test .
Fails then return under warranty .
Tags
i9300 data, mobile data, wifi
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more

Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more

Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more