FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[KERNEL][01APR][JB][SAMMY&CM] SiyahKernel S3 v1.9.1

3,744 posts
Thanks Meter: 25,756
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
22nd September 2012, 01:38 AM |#6411  
eric-filth's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ponta Grossa - PR
Thanks Meter: 1,017
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicregi

Thanks! Awaiting for your good news lol. I believe those will be a balanced battery and performance right?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app

Yes. More battery than performace because JB is good enought to need extreme performace.

Enviado do meu GT-I9300
 
 
22nd September 2012, 02:18 AM |#6412  
Cristiano Matos's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nibiru
Thanks Meter: 11,816
 
More
Someone or GM himself could answer my doubt?
In rc1 changelog is written zram and swap enable but I can't find it in stweaks
That tweaks are enable by default, need to do via script or something else?

Thanks already.
22nd September 2012, 03:30 AM |#6413  
cba1986's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 496
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristiano Matos

Someone or GM himself could answer my doubt?
In rc1 changelog is written zram and swap enable but I can't find it in stweaks
That tweaks are enable by default, need to do via script or something else?

Thanks already.

Running rc1 for a time now. This thing is flying now: Now i ask: Can the 1704MHz step be added?
22nd September 2012, 03:41 AM |#6414  
DrGomez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGomez

i have problems with widgets not loading correctly. works on CM10 stock kernel.

any comment on this? anyone can confirm or report please? any lifesigns?
22nd September 2012, 04:07 AM |#6415  
wolfboy1984's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 712
 
More
Not one widget problem with me on cm10. The silent response to your first enquiry tells you it's fine for most - if not all - i would imagine.
22nd September 2012, 04:50 AM |#6416  
nicregi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Malaysia
Thanks Meter: 165
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric-filth

Yes. More battery than performace because JB is good enought to need extreme performace.

Enviado do meu GT-I9300

Great to hear that honestly. Hope you can share with us soon!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
22nd September 2012, 05:17 AM |#6417  
Pitzbull's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Just wanted to give a huge thank you for getting CIFS module loading properly again. Besides the great sound tweaks this is my other favourite feature of your kernel that I love.
22nd September 2012, 05:47 AM |#6418  
gokhanmoral's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Ankara
Thanks Meter: 25,756
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristiano Matos

Someone or GM himself could answer my doubt?
In rc1 changelog is written zram and swap enable but I can't find it in stweaks
That tweaks are enable by default, need to do via script or something else?

Thanks already.

Zram was in stweaks but I removed it because some people complained about the stability. However there is still a script in res/customconfig/actions folder that you can call (/res/uci.sh zram 1) or at least have an idea about how to enable it. For swap there was a thread about an init script.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gokhanmoral For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd September 2012, 06:41 AM |#6419  
myth1001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
So wifi connection issue is common for v1.5.3 on Sammy stock roms (XXBLH1)? Searched around the thread and web and can't seem to find a fix for it.

Edit: Forget about this post..
22nd September 2012, 06:43 AM |#6420  
bala_gamer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Madurai-Chennai
Thanks Meter: 6,894
 
Donate to Me
More
@ gokhan

just wanted to ask you this. whats the difference between compiling the kernel from the source and adding modules to the existing stock kernel(just like v1.6). What impact does it have on performance if any ? any advantage/disadvantages?
Last edited by bala_gamer; 22nd September 2012 at 06:51 AM.
22nd September 2012, 06:56 AM |#6421  
gokhanmoral's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Ankara
Thanks Meter: 25,756
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bala_gamer

@ gokhan

just wanted to ask you this. whats the difference between compiling the kernel from the source and adding modules to the existing stock kernel(just like v1.6). What impact does it have on performance if any ?

Well, B15 has modules rc1 is compiled.
I had no sources when preparing the modules and that caused some problems (cifs for example) . Apart from that if we are talking about the same functionality it should be the same (such as overclocking undervolting etc)
But some modifications are not possible with modules. Such as swap support or some code level optimizations such as optimized crc or sha1 algorithms.
I am using the same modules in the new compiled version and I will keep improving them. In future this will let us use new kernels or maybe wireless drivers without having the source code.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by gokhanmoral; 22nd September 2012 at 07:03 AM.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to gokhanmoral For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
battery life, big bang of all kernels, dual boot, god - gm - humans, kernelgasm, king of kernels, legendary, lyn's choice, megan fox of kernels, smooth
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes