Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD/APP]][SIYAH][4.7t5][28.4.13]=SiyahMODs=-Multi-Boot+Zram/Swap+Sound-=NEW!

OP rlorange

19th October 2012, 09:31 AM   |  #11  
xanthrax's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Darkside
Thanks Meter: 8,747
 
13,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlorange

So here it is guys:

BACKUP YOUR SECOND ROM from S-tweaks app before using this mod yeah?

is this above a question ?
-=-=-
flashed 1Gb script without BACKUP (just for testing) and the sec rom boot fine ! 128 mb left on system !
great job mate ! i`ve been waiting for this !
it must be a MUST on every OP !
-=-
(Q!) what if i`ll flash again Siyah ? will it keep the same size ?
-=-
... i`ll try myself
-=-=- ANSWER
flashing siyah 1.7rc1 , same size system partition kept for sec rom !
i`ll thank you again !
Last edited by xanthrax; 19th October 2012 at 09:46 AM.
19th October 2012, 09:56 AM   |  #12  
rlorange's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 1,979
 
3,954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
The zips will work as long as the size of the one you choose is bigger than the size of the 2nd rom /system partition... having said that there is 20-30mb needed for file system stuff so don't cut it too fine

The smaller system.img file should stay how it is until you format 2nd rom partition or try some other operation which breaks so restoring default 1.5gb size.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
Last edited by rlorange; 19th October 2012 at 09:58 AM.
19th October 2012, 10:00 AM   |  #13  
xanthrax's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Darkside
Thanks Meter: 8,747
 
13,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlorange

The zips will work as long as the size of the one you choose is bigger than the size of the 2nd rom /system partition... having said that there is 20-30mb needed for file system stuff so don't cut it too fine

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

of course ! and some new guys has to know that flashing more MODS/ZIPPS after shrinking will require more system partition room so , do not suffocate it !
19th October 2012, 10:03 AM   |  #14  
rlorange's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 1,979
 
3,954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
"BACKUP YOUR SECOND ROM from S-tweaks app before using this mod yeah?"

Lol! Must be an Australian figure of speech means: you understand?/this is common sense

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
19th October 2012, 10:05 AM   |  #15  
xanthrax's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Darkside
Thanks Meter: 8,747
 
13,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlorange

"BACKUP YOUR SECOND ROM from S-tweaks app before using this mod yeah?"

Lol! Must be an Australian figure of speech means: you understand?/this is common sense

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

got ya ! i figured out later
19th October 2012, 10:07 AM   |  #16  
rlorange's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 1,979
 
3,954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xanthrax

of course ! and some new guys has to know that flashing more MODS/ZIPPS after shrinking will require more system partition room so , do not suffocate it !

Indeed!... but you can always make it bigger by flashing a different one later...

I want to use Aroma installer so the user can choose their own size but I'm waaaay to noob to pull that off without help

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
19th October 2012, 10:30 AM   |  #17  
xanthrax's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Darkside
Thanks Meter: 8,747
 
13,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlorange

Indeed!... but you can always make it bigger by flashing a different one later...

I want to use Aroma installer so the user can choose their own size but I'm waaaay to noob to pull that off without help

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

even better ! Aroma rullz !!!
-=-
well , of course you can make it bigger via script or flashing another size but i was imaging that scenario when someone has a limit system partition , he forget about that and after a MOD flash start crying , is not working ! i bricked my phone ... etc ... as if you don`t know how people are ...

---------- Post added at 10:30 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 AM ----------

maybe you can check this ... AROMA ... or you already did ...
Last edited by xanthrax; 19th October 2012 at 10:20 AM.
19th October 2012, 11:30 AM   |  #18  
rlorange's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 1,979
 
3,954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Been looking, actually I don't think edify script can allow one to input a direct value... only category/check box options...

Ah its good enough for now... lucky this only affects second rom... not phazed by whiners

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium
19th October 2012, 09:53 PM   |  #19  
xanthrax's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Darkside
Thanks Meter: 8,747
 
13,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
... and if after shrink the sec rom will be cloned to primary , gues what ? the shrinked partition will be cloned as well so , more storage saved !
The Following User Says Thank You to xanthrax For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th October 2012, 02:21 AM   |  #20  
rlorange's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 1,979
 
3,954 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by xanthrax

... and if after shrink the sec rom will be cloned to primary , gues what ? the shrinked partition will be cloned as well so , more storage saved !

No this certainly won't work as the primary ROM actually lives in the proper system partition which is formatted to 1.5GB

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes