Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,801 Members 39,936 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

| CyanogenMod Camera Bug | Solved | "Cannot connect to Camera?" Solved!

Tip us?
 
noobSU
Old
(Last edited by noobSU; 24th May 2013 at 05:51 PM.)
#1  
noobSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2,138
Posts: 2,172
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The green part of the world. PAKISTAN
Default | CyanogenMod Camera Bug | Solved | "Cannot connect to Camera?" Solved!

This App is no way belongs to me. Im just sharing it to the guys using AOKP/AOSP roms. Because i was watching so many people complainning about it.


It actually completely restarts your camera app in a second or so. without having to reboot your cell phone.


Simply Install it. Give it Root permissions. When ever "cannot connect to Camera error" appears. Click on this app in your app drawer. Then open camera app once again. it ll be fine then.

Restart_Camera.apk (Attached)
Attached Files
File Type: apk Restart_Camera_xda.apk - [Click for QR Code] (688.6 KB, 9730 views)
The Following 53 Users Say Thank You to noobSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
noobSU
Old
#2  
noobSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2,138
Posts: 2,172
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The green part of the world. PAKISTAN
Sharing = THANKS
The Following User Says Thank You to noobSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Eleve11
Old
#3  
Eleve11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 777
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stockholm
Interesting! Will keep this app in mind. But exactly how does it work? What's the app doing?
My icon packs on Google Play here!
-
Earlier devices:
Samsung Galaxy S, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, HTC One, Nexus 4 ✝
Using: Samsung Galaxy S III, iPhone5S, Nexus 5
 
exxpired
Old
#4  
exxpired's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 515
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Watford
No idea how this works but, It defo works well! I forced the camera to crash (on pa) to test it, works like a charm
> Nexus 7 2013 - Mahdi-Rom 2.5 KK 4.4.2 || Faux Kernel u16 || Rooted <
> Nexus 5 32 GB - White (Panda) Edition - Mahdi-Rom 2.7 KK 4.4.4 || franco.Kernel r55 || Rooted <

Previous phones:
Samsung T100; Motorola C350; SE K700i; Samsung D500; Samsung D600; SE K750i; SE W910i; LG KF750 Secret; SE C902; iPhone 3g 16gb; Nokia 5800 XpressMusic;
(Converted on Android)
Samsung I5700 Galaxy Spica; HTC Desire HD; HTC Sensation XE; Samsung Galaxy S3; Samsung Galaxy S4; LG Google Nexus 5 32gb
The Following User Says Thank You to exxpired For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
noobSU
Old
(Last edited by noobSU; 24th May 2013 at 11:45 AM.)
#5  
noobSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2,138
Posts: 2,172
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The green part of the world. PAKISTAN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eleve11 View Post
Interesting! Will keep this app in mind. But exactly how does it work? What's the app doing?
It just resets camera & all of its services libs etc which is also be done by the System when you reboot your cell phone. Its is exactly just like rebooting your camera completely just like you reboot your cell phone. As much as i can explain. Thats why it requires root permissions.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to noobSU For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Alhaddad
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 206
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manama

 
DONATE TO ME
so, this is not a fix, it's just a workaround

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
 
noobSU
Old
#7  
noobSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2,138
Posts: 2,172
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The green part of the world. PAKISTAN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alhaddad View Post
so, this is not a fix, it's just a workaround

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
It is a fix somehow. Clicking on the app & in less than 2 secs if it is resolving the issue. It is the fix. Yes, a temporary one. CM can only release a permenant fix.
 
Eleve11
Old
#8  
Eleve11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 777
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stockholm
Interesting..

It doesn't work on all AOSP ROM's I discovered now. Worked on CM and PA but not on LiquidSmooth, AOKP.

I install the app and opened the app when the problem started but nothing happened. It doesn't request Superuser permissions. Very strange!
My icon packs on Google Play here!
-
Earlier devices:
Samsung Galaxy S, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, HTC One, Nexus 4 ✝
Using: Samsung Galaxy S III, iPhone5S, Nexus 5
 
noobSU
Old
#9  
noobSU's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2,138
Posts: 2,172
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The green part of the world. PAKISTAN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eleve11 View Post
Interesting..

It doesn't work on all AOSP ROM's I discovered now. Worked on CM and PA but not on LiquidSmooth, AOKP.

I install the app and opened the app when the problem started but nothing happened. It doesn't request Superuser permissions. Very strange!
It should work. Im using it on sentinel rom without any issues. Works on temasek unofficial aswell. Are you using CM official camera or any modded one?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
 
Eleve11
Old
#10  
Eleve11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 777
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noob-superuser View Post
It should work. Im using it on sentinel rom without any issues. Works on temasek unofficial aswell. Are you using CM official camera or any modded one?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Well atm I'm on LiquidSmooth. Doesn't work
My icon packs on Google Play here!
-
Earlier devices:
Samsung Galaxy S, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, HTC One, Nexus 4 ✝
Using: Samsung Galaxy S III, iPhone5S, Nexus 5

Tags
camera bug, camera error, cannot connect to camera, cm bug
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes