5,604,219 Members 49,391 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD+GUIDE][V3][10.06]Modified TouchWiz Home&App Drawer

Tip us?
 
Toss3
Old
(Last edited by Toss3; 15th June 2012 at 11:12 AM.)
#71  
Toss3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 440
Posts: 1,546
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Helsinki
How to create your very own version of TouchWiz
Complexity level: Low
Skill requirements: Need to know how to use CMD and preferably ADB
Requirements: Rooted & deodexed phone, APKtool, Notepad++, WinRar/7zip and a Windows PC(you can do it on other OS:s as well, but I'm using Windows so that's what I recommend)
So now let's start - this is what we are aiming for:

Before: After:

1. Now what we want to do first is download the apktool from this link over HERE.
2. It is important that you use the version meant for ICS otherwise you are going to run into problems
3. Now we need to extract the contents of the apktool.zip file and put it somewhere we have an easy time finding(my recommendation is simply to create a new folder on your C-drive, like so: C:/APKtool).
4. Now we need to copy your framework-res.apk file located on your phone on /Sytem/framework/framework-res.apk, by either pulling it with ADB(requires Android SDK available HERE) or by simply copying it over with a file explorer such as THIS one.
(Guide on how to use ADB HERE)
5. We will also be needing the SecLauncher2.apk that we want to modify, so pull/copy it from /System/App/SecLauncher2.apk to the same folder you put APKtool in.
6. Now we need to make sure that we have the framework-res.apk and SecLauncher2.apk files we just pulled from our phone inside the same folder as APKtool(if you followed my recommendations in this guide this would be C:/APKtool)

Now the pre-fun part starts:

7. Open up CMD on your Windows-machine, either by doing the Win+R method(which opens the RUN-window, from where you open CMD
by just writing "CMD" and pressing "RETURN" on your keyboard) or simply by searching for it.
8. Now we need to make sure that CMD is running from the same folder as APKtool so what we do here is write: "CD C:/apktool", which changes the folder to C:/APKtool
9. What we need to do now is install the framework-res.apk file to APKTool and we do this via CMD by typing "apktool if framework-res.apk", which installs it to C:/Users/Username(your username)/apktool/framework/1.apk

Now we have everything we need to start decompiling the APK-files!

10. Now what you need is a handy tool such as Notepad++ to edit your files inside of the apk. Download HERE.
11. Now what I do is two make a copy of the SecLauncher2.apk, and at the same time rename it to Launcher.apk
12. Now you need to open up CMD again(navigate to your apktool folder by executing the "CD C:/apktool"-command)
13. Write "apktool d launcher.apk" which decompiles it to a folder called launcher(the command we are running here is: "apktool d -f
(to force overwrite of any prior folder sharing the same name) yourapk.apk foldername(the name of the folder you want to extract the contents of your .apk to))"

14. Now we have a bunch of folders and files, but we only need to edit some XML-files inside the Launcher/res/values and values-sw359dp-xhdpi folders

Jump to 17 if you don't want to enable wallpaper-scrolling, otherwise continue reading

15. We'll start by enabling wallpaper-scrolling by navigating to the "Launcher/res/values" folder and opening the bools.xml file with Notepad++
16. What you need to change here is the boolean value for "<bool name="config_fixedWallpaperOffset">true</bool>" from true to false.(Now you've enabled wallpaper-scrolling, hard was it not? )

The following is for editing the layout of the home-screen and app drawer(if you want to keep the stock layout jump to 24):

17. Navigate to "Launcher/res/values-sw359dp-xhdpi"
18. Inside you will find the following files: "bools.xml", "dimens.xml", "fractions.xml", "integers.xml" and "styles.xml"
19. The files we need to edit are the "integers.xml" and "dimens.xml" files.
20. We'll start by editing the integers.xml file(this is all pretty straight forward):
a) The integer values here are aptly
named and it's not hard to guess what each value does: home_cellCountX is the number of cells in the X(horizontal)-axis on the homescreen while the Y-value again, corresponds to the number of cells on the Y(vertical)-axis.
b) The manuAppsGrid_cellCountX and Y correspond to the amount of cells in the X- and Y-axis of the App Drawer.
Note! Editing the hotseat_cellcount-values has no affect that I know of(tried it already).
21. Now that you've decided on the amount of Apps you want visible on both your HomeScreen and AppDrawer, you need to edit the dimensions as well so that they fit onto your screen.
22. Thus we need to edit the "dimens.xml" file:

a)The values you want to change here are the following for the HomeScreen:
Code:
 "<dimen name="home_cellWidth">90.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="home_cellHeight">85.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="home_cellGapX">0.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="home_cellGapY">0.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="home_cellGapMax">18.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="home_pageIndicatorGap">12.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="home_pageIndicatorTop">520.0dip</dimen>"
These need to suit your layout, and it takes a lot of trial and error to get these values right, but you can always download the modified launchers in the OP of this thread, decompile them and get the values from there.

23. For your app drawer you'll need to edit these values:
Code:
  "<dimen name="menuAppsGrid_pageMarginPlusPaddingTop">10.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellWidth">70.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellHeight">90.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellGapX">0.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellGapY">0.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="menuAppsGrid_cellGapMax">18.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="menu_pageIndicatorGap">12.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="menu_pageIndicatorTop">550.0dip</dimen>"
24. Once you've done this you'll just need to open up CMD and write "apktool b SecLauncherNew.apk" to compile your modified launcher, and create an .apk named SecLauncherNew.apk
25. BUT We're not done yet! Open up the SecLauncher2.apk in your apktool folder as well as your SecLauncherNew.apk you just created, with WinRAR/7zip.
26. Copy over the "res" and "resources.arsc" files to your original SecLauncher2.apk, overwriting the old ones.
27. This keeps the signature of the APK in tact, which means that you'll have no problem installing it on your phone
28. Push or Copy the modified SecLauncher2.apk over to your /system/app folder on your phone, making sure that you overwrite the existing SecLauncher2.apk application
29. Reboot!

YOU ARE DONE! Congratulations, you are now running your very own version of TouchWiz.
The Following 48 Users Say Thank You to Toss3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Toss3
Old
#72  
Toss3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 440
Posts: 1,546
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Helsinki
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanam View Post
Nice mod Toss3, i have a question about disabling scrolling cache, why it's not recommended in ICS? i did it for all of my sgs2 ics updates without any reported issue!
It was needed in Gingerbread, because scrolling cache wasn't functioning very well, but on ICS it makes scrolling less smooth: Linky

Quote:
android:scrollingCache

When set to true, the list uses a drawing cache during scrolling. This makes the rendering faster but uses more memory. The default value is true.
Must be a boolean value, either "true" or "false".
This may also be a reference to a resource (in the form "@[package:]type:name") or theme attribute (in the form "?[package:][type:]name") containing a value of this type.
This corresponds to the global attribute resource symbol scrollingCache.
 
alucine
Old
#73  
alucine's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 139
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Barcelona
Toss3 good job !!!

May be is possible to move icon app draw from left to the middle ?

Thanks
 
Toss3
Old
#74  
Toss3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 440
Posts: 1,546
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Helsinki
Quote:
Originally Posted by alucine View Post
Toss3 good job !!!

May be is possible to move icon app draw from left to the middle ?

Thanks
Anything is possible, with enough time.
The Following User Says Thank You to Toss3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
beeboss
Old
#75  
beeboss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 247
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Moscow

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice work, man! Please can you also add a manual how to disable pinch -to-zoom in the app-drawer if it's possible Thanks a lot!
 
knights.JayTana
Old
#76  
knights.JayTana's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 601
Posts: 1,041
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Davao City
i love Touchwiz. The only thing i want to see is the option to customize icons...


ROM: MIUI-India v?
Kernel: Siyah 1.5b3
 
beeboss
Old
#77  
beeboss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 247
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Moscow

 
DONATE TO ME
Maybe i'm doing something wrong but after completing first steps when i type "apktool if framework-res.apk" cmd gives me an error...
 
lostsoul
Old
(Last edited by lostsoul; 24th September 2012 at 09:05 AM.) Reason: typo
#78  
lostsoul's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 227
Join Date: Feb 2007
Looks nice.

What I personally would love to see is no icon text on homescreens. Like you can set in go launcher and others.

If you can do that it would be awesome!

Verstuurd van mijn GT-I9300
 
Toss3
Old
#79  
Toss3's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 440
Posts: 1,546
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Helsinki
Quote:
Originally Posted by beeboss View Post
Maybe i'm doing something wrong but after completing first steps when i type "apktool if framework-res.apk" cmd gives me an error...
Just make sure that the framework-res.apk is in the same folder
The Following User Says Thank You to Toss3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cc1961
Old
#80  
cc1961's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 83
Join Date: May 2008
I tried to copy the file with Root Explorer (Omega Rom 5.0), but I got a message that said Read-Only file, and so couldn't do it. I'm sure I'm missing something, but don't know what ...

---------- Post added at 10:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 PM ----------

Problem solved. I changed the Permissions setting in Root Explorer.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes