Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,594 Members 38,966 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Issue returning to stock

Tip us?
 
ericvolp12
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Issue returning to stock

Hi, guys, so I recently got a replacement for my GS4 and the model I got did not have functioning wifi.

I then left the country for a while so I was unable to send it in to be replaced.

I wasn't sure which firmware version was on the device before I tried fixing it.

I've tried all sorts of stuff, but I either get stuck on the ATT boot logo (wiping cache and factory reset did not fix it) or I run into the SW Rev Check Fail: fused: 5 Binary: 2 error.

Can someone please help?

Let me know what you need to help me out.

Thanks!!!
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,332
Posts: 9,780
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
The fused 5 tells me you're on a newer firmware version. I'd flash the nb1 tar file in Odin. See the general forum for it

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ericvolp12
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
The fused 5 tells me you're on a newer firmware version. I'd flash the nb1 tar file in Odin. See the general forum for it

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Thanks, I'll let you know how it works out, downloading now, I should have an answer in 15 minutes or so.
 
ericvolp12
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
The fused 5 tells me you're on a newer firmware version. I'd flash the nb1 tar file in Odin. See the general forum for it

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Okay, so I got the NB1 from here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2674223

The odin flash passed just fine - http://i.gyazo.com/59ba7f6a24a49d8e4af68f9c93914e34.png

On reboot, it hits the solid Samsung logo with a custom logo below it with the unlocked padlock.

Recovery won't boot, only download mode will, and it bootloops when trying to start up.

Further assistance required, please help!

Thanks!
 
jd1639
Old
#5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,332
Posts: 9,780
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericvolp12 View Post
Okay, so I got the NB1 from here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2674223

The odin flash passed just fine - http://i.gyazo.com/59ba7f6a24a49d8e4af68f9c93914e34.png

On reboot, it hits the solid Samsung logo with a custom logo below it with the unlocked padlock.

Recovery won't boot, only download mode will, and it bootloops when trying to start up.

Further assistance required, please help!

Thanks!
Are you can't get into recovery? Factory reset in recovery should get you past the boot loop.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ericvolp12
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Are you can't get into recovery? Factory reset in recovery should get you past the boot loop.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
Okay, so I got into recovery, did a factory reset, wiped cache, rebooted, and now It boots to the samsung animation, then the ATT animation, but the ATT animation freezes half way and won't boot.

What do I do now?

Thanks!
 
jd1639
Old
#7  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,332
Posts: 9,780
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericvolp12 View Post
Okay, so I got into recovery, did a factory reset, wiped cache, rebooted, and now It boots to the samsung animation, then the ATT animation, but the ATT animation freezes half way and won't boot.

What do I do now?

Thanks!
Give it more time the first boot after Odin will take time, give it at least 5 minutes

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ericvolp12
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Give it more time the first boot after Odin will take time, give it at least 5 minutes

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
HOLY CHRIST IT WORKED!!!!!!!

I've spent a total of 20 hours trying to fix this now, you, sir, are my hero, my brother will now have to bow down to my technological know-how (being able to ask for help after 18 hours of trying).

YUS!!!!!

THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!!!
 
jd1639
Old
#9  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,332
Posts: 9,780
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericvolp12 View Post
HOLY CHRIST IT WORKED!!!!!!!

I've spent a total of 20 hours trying to fix this now, you, sir, are my hero, my brother will now have to bow down to my technological know-how (being able to ask for help after 18 hours of trying).

YUS!!!!!

THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!!!
Glad you got it working

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

The Following User Says Thank You to jd1639 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes