T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

GT-I9195 compass not working properly, possibly magnetometer issue

OP marchrius

28th August 2014, 11:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Hi everyone. Compass is stuck in my s4 mini. From sensor test (*#0*# then sensors) I can see this (see attachment). It seems like magnetometer is not calibrated. Any way to calibrate it (apart from usual methods like 8 figure or rotate phone around tre axis since I already tried them and they didnt worked) or reset it to stock values? Tried factory reset too.

thanks a lot guys.. I really need help, It may be an hardware issue but I want to try everything via software before send it to sammy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-08-28-23-01-07.png
Views:	60
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	2916085   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-08-28-23-00-06.png
Views:	59
Size:	27.9 KB
ID:	2916086  
29th August 2014, 10:02 AM   |  #2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Please help guys, tried wipe cache and dalvik cache too. Send phone to samsung is the last thing I want to do due to my knox 0x1.
30th August 2014, 11:30 AM   |  #3  
Ruwy's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
I have the same problem. I have tried to rotate phone along his three axis, while in sensor screen. Phone vibrate and light green during this operation and "need calibration " disappeared... Now only number "3" is displayed.
30th August 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Unfortunately, I tried calibration in sensor screen too but nothing happens. Always "need for calibration 0".
2nd September 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Solved reflashing the whole firmware with odin... calibration now works.
5th September 2014, 04:35 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Found out that the problem was the kernel. As soon as I flash a kernel different from the stock one, compass get stuck. On stock rom and JB at least... be careful.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes