Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,513 Members 52,596 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Network and WiFi signal poor

Tip us?
 
lsalamun
Old
(Last edited by lsalamun; 14th July 2014 at 11:17 PM.)
#1  
lsalamun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 366
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Varaždin
Hi guys,
Today my girlfriend got s4 mini i9195 international lte version.
The phone is on 4.2.2 and i noticed that the signal is very poor on network.

On my s3 i have full 4 bars while she has none/1 bar, also the wifi disconects sometimes, it says it is connected but it doesn't load anything, it needs to be switched off and on again.

The phone is brand new unrooted.
Is it due to bugs in 4.2.2 (i don't know i don't follow s4 mini forum just s3).
I also tried software update but it says it's the latest (lying obviously).

Also to mention, sometimes the SystemUI restarts and wallpaper goes black. Is that another bug?

Any help is appreciated, cheers.

Sent from my pebble blue scoobie doo using Tapatalk.
Phone:
Samsung Galaxy SIII i9300 16gb pebble blue
Daily drivers:
Boeffla kernel 5.3 stable / Archikernel (testing)
ArchiDroid 1.7.x

 
lsalamun
Old
#2  
lsalamun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 366
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Varaždin
Bump.
Can anyone say if it is normal at least? I'll figure out then what to do..

Sent from my pebble blue scoobie doo using Tapatalk.
Phone:
Samsung Galaxy SIII i9300 16gb pebble blue
Daily drivers:
Boeffla kernel 5.3 stable / Archikernel (testing)
ArchiDroid 1.7.x

 
rrgrrg
Old
#3  
rrgrrg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3452
Posts: 2,110
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Alexandria
if you are a stock guy with no mods just stock go to sammobile and find your countrey\its area and download its firmware and flash it but backup before doing so ... the black wallpaper comes when the systemui.apk crashes ... there must be a dirty cache or something
My Projects:
Current Device:
Quote:
Model:GT-i9192 - Galaxy S4 Mini
Rom: WizzedKAT 2.0RC CHECK THIS QUICK REVIEW NEW !!
Kernel:Amestris Kernel V2.7
Modem:i9192XXUBMK4
The Following User Says Thank You to rrgrrg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lsalamun
Old
#4  
lsalamun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 366
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Varaždin
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrgrrg View Post
if you are a stock guy with no mods just stock go to sammobile and find your countrey\its area and download its firmware and flash it but backup before doing so ... the black wallpaper comes when the systemui.apk crashes ... there must be a dirty cache or something
Everything is fully stock.
It doesn't have any new firmware for my carrier, but it has for another carrier in my country, can i flash this firmware, both are for i9195.

And another question, i don't have many knowledge in KNOX, so to ask, can normal flashing via Odin activate KNOX, or flashing via Kies?

Sent from my pebble blue scoobie doo using Tapatalk.
Phone:
Samsung Galaxy SIII i9300 16gb pebble blue
Daily drivers:
Boeffla kernel 5.3 stable / Archikernel (testing)
ArchiDroid 1.7.x

 
Toje2
Old
#5  
Toje2's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 88
Join Date: Apr 2009
Try making sure bluetooth is off.

My S4-Mini cant do both at the same time, and I have had 2.
 
lsalamun
Old
#6  
lsalamun's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 366
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Varaždin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toje2 View Post
Try making sure bluetooth is off.

My S4-Mini cant do both at the same time, and I have had 2.
Bluetooth was off, but NFC was on maybe he was getting a problem, or i'll just have to accept that it has weaker antennas than s3.

Also, will flashing a stock firmware via Odin activate Knox? Because it's on 4.2.2 now and would like to upgrade to 4.4.2 (but i read many want to downgrade).

Sent from my pebble blue scoobie doo using Tapatalk.
Phone:
Samsung Galaxy SIII i9300 16gb pebble blue
Daily drivers:
Boeffla kernel 5.3 stable / Archikernel (testing)
ArchiDroid 1.7.x

 
Toje2
Old
#7  
Toje2's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 88
Join Date: Apr 2009
I guess its just weaker then,

Going back to stock should not activate knox, it did not when I did it to flash a new radio.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes