Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Backup Question...

OP MortTheBeast

27th July 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I'm wondering if there is any way to basically copy the entire phone.. os and all... and make a rom out of it? I just thought life would be so much simpler if I could do a fresh install of 4.4.2, root, recovery, do all the tweaks/settings and removal of bloatware I don't like and then install all my standard apps *minus games of course* and make it into a rom, I could save myself tons of time by not having to keep rinsing and repeating this long procedure whenever I run into major issues.
27th July 2014, 05:15 AM   |  #2  
btoddweber's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Knoxville
Thanks Meter: 1,784
 
2,460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
If you make a proper backup...then have to restore it, it will restore exactly how you had it at the moment you made the backup.

So....you can

If you say "Please" be sure and hit "Thanks"!!!
27th July 2014, 05:39 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by btoddweber

If you make a proper backup...then have to restore it, it will restore exactly how you had it at the moment you made the backup.

So....you can

If you say "Please" be sure and hit "Thanks"!!!

I used CWM and made a nandroid but it must not back "everything" up, because I had some issues after replacing numerous files and when I ran restore and it rebooted... had window after window popping up telling me "this stopped working and that stopped working"... nonstop... ended up having to do a complete wipe and reinstall.

Thats why I thought there might be a better method like making a rom as I mentioned in my original post.
27th July 2014, 07:34 AM   |  #4  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
Thanks Meter: 1,253
 
2,291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Then you made your nandroid incorrectly.
Either you didn't select all the partitions (inclusing media) and the SE context.

OR the recovery you used is the issue.

I've created hundreds, if not thousands of nandroids and flash between ROMs/Builds all the time. [well not lately been working 15+hour days]
Take some time and read through the OPs and follow up discussions for the recoveries and ROMs and you'll find the right combo of recover/ROM.

I always make sure my nandroids restore before moving on to another ROM or build. IF they don't then I can rebuild current ROM (since I know exactly what is involved), try another recovery and see if it restores after complete double/triple wipe and install of another ROM base. If that works I'll note the recovery/ROM combo and then move on.

Just my two cents.
The Following User Says Thank You to leaderbuilder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes