FORUMS

Time-Lapse with ChronoSnap – XDA App Review

Some of the most interesting pictures are time-lapse animations that capture the … more

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Phone wont power on, or boot to download mode or recovery

15th July 2014, 04:46 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm not sure what the heck happened. Flashed cwm to my sph-l720t and all was groovy. I was able to install CM 11 and update to the latest nightly. A few minutes ago the phone just powered off and it won't come back up. The battery is fully charged.

I can't power it up in any way with out having to take the battery out for a few minutes. After that I get one shot at powering it on or entering recovery mode.


If i hold vol down and the power button it enters the download mode but then shuts off. The same thing happens with recovery mode and booting normally.

Any ideas?
 
 
15th July 2014, 05:35 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiswasnttaken

I'm not sure what the heck happened. Flashed cwm to my sph-l720t and all was groovy. I was able to install CM 11 and update to the latest nightly. A few minutes ago the phone just powered off and it won't come back up. The battery is fully charged.

I can't power it up in any way with out having to take the battery out for a few minutes. After that I get one shot at powering it on or entering recovery mode.


If i hold vol down and the power button it enters the download mode but then shuts off. The same thing happens with recovery mode and booting normally.

Any ideas?

Try replacing the battery. Maybe borrow a friends battery just to test if that's the problem. My phone used to power on fine and almost full battery. It would shutoff suddenly so when I powered it on again it would show the battery still almost fully charged. This happend a few times and sometimes I noticed the battery level would drop for example was at 87% it shut off, powered it on and now showed 42%.. I replaced the battery and everything was A okay
The Following User Says Thank You to droidtom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th July 2014, 06:00 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
steamer septyur
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidtom

Try replacing the battery. Maybe borrow a friends battery just to test if that's the problem. My phone used to power on fine and almost full battery. It would shutoff suddenly so when I powered it on again it would show the battery still almost fully charged. This happend a few times and sometimes I noticed the battery level would drop for example was at 87% it shut off, powered it on and now showed 42%.. I replaced the battery and everything was A okay


Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I've tried this already. Still no joy.
18th July 2014, 05:38 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So I ended up bringing the phone to sprint. They said it was a software issue and gave me a new one. He also said there was a bad update or something but i wasn't on a stock rom so i'm not sure how true that is.

On the last device I rooted and installed clockwork mod using flashify. I then restored my backup of my old sph-l720 (non triband) and it worked for about a day then at some point it died and was stuck in the position mentioned in the OP. Does anyone thing that the phone bricked because of my restore method or because of some weird circumstances on sprint's end? I want to restore but don't want to brick it.
18th July 2014, 11:15 PM |#5  
troyboytn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Knoxville
Thanks Meter: 640
 
More
If that backup came from a non tri-band l720 S4, that is what happened to your l720t. Do not restore that backup to your new one if it is a l720t
19th July 2014, 12:53 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by troyboytn

If that backup came from a non tri-band l720 S4, that is what happened to your l720t. Do not restore that backup to your new one if it is a l720t

Any idea what about it caused it to fail catastrophicaly like that after a little over a day of flawless use?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes