Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

[Q] Phone wont power on, or boot to download mode or recovery

OP thiswasnttaken

15th July 2014, 04:46 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
I'm not sure what the heck happened. Flashed cwm to my sph-l720t and all was groovy. I was able to install CM 11 and update to the latest nightly. A few minutes ago the phone just powered off and it won't come back up. The battery is fully charged.

I can't power it up in any way with out having to take the battery out for a few minutes. After that I get one shot at powering it on or entering recovery mode.


If i hold vol down and the power button it enters the download mode but then shuts off. The same thing happens with recovery mode and booting normally.

Any ideas?
15th July 2014, 05:35 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiswasnttaken

I'm not sure what the heck happened. Flashed cwm to my sph-l720t and all was groovy. I was able to install CM 11 and update to the latest nightly. A few minutes ago the phone just powered off and it won't come back up. The battery is fully charged.

I can't power it up in any way with out having to take the battery out for a few minutes. After that I get one shot at powering it on or entering recovery mode.


If i hold vol down and the power button it enters the download mode but then shuts off. The same thing happens with recovery mode and booting normally.

Any ideas?

Try replacing the battery. Maybe borrow a friends battery just to test if that's the problem. My phone used to power on fine and almost full battery. It would shutoff suddenly so when I powered it on again it would show the battery still almost fully charged. This happend a few times and sometimes I noticed the battery level would drop for example was at 87% it shut off, powered it on and now showed 42%.. I replaced the battery and everything was A okay
The Following User Says Thank You to droidtom For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th July 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
steamer septyur
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidtom

Try replacing the battery. Maybe borrow a friends battery just to test if that's the problem. My phone used to power on fine and almost full battery. It would shutoff suddenly so when I powered it on again it would show the battery still almost fully charged. This happend a few times and sometimes I noticed the battery level would drop for example was at 87% it shut off, powered it on and now showed 42%.. I replaced the battery and everything was A okay


Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I've tried this already. Still no joy.
18th July 2014, 05:38 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
So I ended up bringing the phone to sprint. They said it was a software issue and gave me a new one. He also said there was a bad update or something but i wasn't on a stock rom so i'm not sure how true that is.

On the last device I rooted and installed clockwork mod using flashify. I then restored my backup of my old sph-l720 (non triband) and it worked for about a day then at some point it died and was stuck in the position mentioned in the OP. Does anyone thing that the phone bricked because of my restore method or because of some weird circumstances on sprint's end? I want to restore but don't want to brick it.
18th July 2014, 11:15 PM   |  #5  
troyboytn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Knoxville
Thanks Meter: 589
 
1,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
If that backup came from a non tri-band l720 S4, that is what happened to your l720t. Do not restore that backup to your new one if it is a l720t
19th July 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by troyboytn

If that backup came from a non tri-band l720 S4, that is what happened to your l720t. Do not restore that backup to your new one if it is a l720t

Any idea what about it caused it to fail catastrophicaly like that after a little over a day of flawless use?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes