Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,998 Members 39,334 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

M919 on NB4, ONLY getting LTE

Tip us?
 
ForgeFed
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default M919 on NB4, ONLY getting LTE

So I've posted in a couple threads regarding similar problems, but I should finally get my own thread.

My issue is that my M919 is ONLY getting LTE signal.

I've tried full NB4 stock, GPE stock, various AOSP and Touchwiz based roms - all having the same issue.

I only get basic cell service (able to make phone calls) at work where we are located directly next to the cell tower.
I get home (which is only a short distance away from the office) and I lose the ability to make phone calls, but can still get texts and voicemail (have to use the visual voicemail app though, as I can't dial the vm).

I've verified that if I turn off the LTE part of the radio, I lose signal completely.
I get a decently strong data signal at home, so it's not a strength issue for LTE.

My previous phone was an HTC One (M7) which worked 100% fine at home or work.
My wife's iPhone works just fine.

I've tried flashing both modem.bin and non-hlos.bin for NB4 on this phone (flash, reboot to download, flash again) and this has not restored my signal.


Anyone with any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated!
 
Quickvic30
Old
(Last edited by Quickvic30; 18th July 2014 at 07:36 AM.)
#2  
Quickvic30's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 468
Join Date: Feb 2013
This may sound dumb but what APN settings are you using? if you go into menu/connections/more networks/mobile networks/ network mode and you should see a list of network settings and more options. Make sure that you don't have just the LTE option ticked. If that doesn't work in the hidden menu someone might have set the phone for LTE bands only......pretty sure you have to flash a older modem like MDL to get into the hidden menu to change the band settings.

you want to have this option ticked in network mode setting

Sent from my SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-18-01-04-59[1].png
Views:	48
Size:	208.6 KB
ID:	2857658  
Current Devices

SM-G900T on AT&T
SGH-M919 on AT&T+Rebirth
SGH-I357 on T-Mobile
Galaxy Gear = Rooted+Kernel
 
The Sickness
Old
#3  
The Sickness's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 9,157
Posts: 4,383
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere in Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Dial *#2263# see Automatic is selected. ...

Haters Made Me Famous...
Are You A Hater?
Deviant Team Member
 
ForgeFed
Old
(Last edited by ForgeFed; 18th July 2014 at 05:53 PM.)
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2013
This is all from a stock rom correct?

on AOSP 4.4.4, it only has "LTE/3g/2g" for network modes.
I'm using the AT&T "phone" APN, which is configured correctly.

Will this hidden service menu work on AOSP?
How about 4.4.2 NB4 Touchwiz stock?
I have the KNOX bootloader, so I don't think I can downgrade to MDL at this point.

[UPDATE:] It does appear I am getting 3G signal at work (right next to the cell tower) - I can set the network mode to 3G and the signal goes from LTE to showing H+ and H (AOSP rom). I can make calls at work - so this looks like a GSM signal strength issue. The radio in this S4 seems to completely lose GSM at -97 dbm, but LTE is still stable up to -116 dbm.

If flashing a modem could fix this issue, I'd think flashing the MK2/NB4 modem and non-hlos bin files should have fixed this multiple times over already. Could this need a kernel flash separate from the rom?

I'm wondering if this is a software setting I am missing or if I have a hardware issue and may need to open this phone up and tweak something... It's definitely out of warranty and I don't care at this point. I like the phone, but the not being able to make phone calls at home is frustrating when the iPhone works just fine and my old M7 worked just fine.


Thanks!
 
Quickvic30
Old
#5  
Quickvic30's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 468
Join Date: Feb 2013
You could definitely try flashing a kernel, I have good success with the stock modified kernel by jovy. You can still flash older modems on the nb4 boot loader but the phone will be really lagy and slow but all you need the older modem for is to get into the hidden menu then once you have done your tweaking in the hidden menu you flash back to nb4, and yes the settings stick even when you flash back to nb4. To get into the hidden menu you dial *#0011#

Sent from my SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app
Current Devices

SM-G900T on AT&T
SGH-M919 on AT&T+Rebirth
SGH-I357 on T-Mobile
Galaxy Gear = Rooted+Kernel
 
The Sickness
Old
#6  
The Sickness's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 9,157
Posts: 4,383
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Somewhere in Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
This hidden menu?

Haters Made Me Famous...
Are You A Hater?
Deviant Team Member
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1405708496541.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	2858531  
 
ForgeFed
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2013
Do I need to be on stock Touchwiz in order to get the hidden menu?
And to get the menu requires flashing the MDL modem.bin or non-hlos.bin or both?

I can take a nandroid of my current setup and flash stock NB4 no problem - just want to confirm that is what needs to happen:
Flash stock NB4, then flash MDL modem.bin, boot and check hidden menu. Then flash NB4 modem.bin back and test.

Thanks!
 
Quickvic30
Old
#8  
Quickvic30's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 468
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sickness View Post
This hidden menu?

Haters Made Me Famous...
Are You A Hater?
Deviant Team Member
Yes the hidden service menu. I'm sure there is probably other ways to get into it besides flashing the older modem but I've never really looked into it.

Sent from my SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app
Current Devices

SM-G900T on AT&T
SGH-M919 on AT&T+Rebirth
SGH-I357 on T-Mobile
Galaxy Gear = Rooted+Kernel
 
ForgeFed
Old
(Last edited by ForgeFed; 18th July 2014 at 09:35 PM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quickvic30 View Post
Yes the hidden service menu. I'm sure there is probably other ways to get into it besides flashing the older modem but I've never really looked into it.

Sent from my SM-G900A using XDA Free mobile app
I had to flash stock TW 4.4.2.
Then I was able to get to the service menu from the dialer with *#2263#. *#0011# didn't work at all.

I made sure that "Automatic" had a * next to it.
I'm on the NB4 modem, did not and could not flash the MDL since I'm on the KNOX NB4 bootloader.

I'll see if I can test this later today to verify if this has resolved the issue.
 
ForgeFed
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hidden menu was set to automatic, still on stock 4.4.2 with NB4 modem. No GSM signal at my house when iPhone and M7 both have at least 2-3 bars and can make calls.

I am getting a GSM signal at work, but that is directly next to a tower.

Is this likely a hardware issue? Or should I try a kernel?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Speed Up Jenkins Configuration Process with TSJ

When you are theleader of a largedevelopment project, Gerrit isn’t the only tool that … more

AutoData Regulates Your Connectivity to Save Battery Life

It’s absolutely no secret that battery life is somewhat of anundoingformany … more

Tale of the Great Recoveries

About a week ago, our fantastic writer and my esteemed colleague Tom embarked on a mission to learnthe vast and … more

How to Make Your GPS Lock Faster – XDA Developer TV

Nothing is more frustrating than opening up Google Maps and it taking way to long … more