Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,866 Members 52,072 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Hacked hotspot question

Tip us?
 
Nickdroid86
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 1,253
Join Date: May 2010
Default Hacked hotspot question

I have a hacked factory hotspot on my s4, and what I was wondering, i know it basically bypasses the hotspot plan and shows up in data instead. My question is, can I only use as much hotspot as I have for data? Like if i only get 5gb of lte a month, is that all I can use?

Right now I have the unlimited lte pan, and I use over 300gb a month, and it shows on my data plan. But i may need to downside. I don't want to lose what i use for hotspot though.
 
Nickdroid86
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 1,253
Join Date: May 2010
Bump
 
colorchange
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 107
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickdroid86 View Post
I have a hacked factory hotspot on my s4, and what I was wondering, i know it basically bypasses the hotspot plan and shows up in data instead. My question is, can I only use as much hotspot as I have for data? Like if i only get 5gb of lte a month, is that all I can use?

Right now I have the unlimited lte pan, and I use over 300gb a month, and it shows on my data plan. But i may need to downside. I don't want to lose what i use for hotspot though.
Yes, the hotspot data use will show up in your data total.
Phone: ATT i337
Rom: Insane Kit Kat V11
Kernel: Talexop (Tmo - shouldn't work)
Android: 4.4.2
Radio: MK2
Boot: MDF
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.1
 
Nickdroid86
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 1,253
Join Date: May 2010
So I would need unlimited data if I want unlimited hotspot
 
colorchange
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 107
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickdroid86 View Post
So I would need unlimited data if I want unlimited hotspot
Yes. The next problem will be if you really use tethering a lot, tmo will flag you and you will have to use a VPN to avoid getting the tethering detected. That is the step I am evaluating now.
Phone: ATT i337
Rom: Insane Kit Kat V11
Kernel: Talexop (Tmo - shouldn't work)
Android: 4.4.2
Radio: MK2
Boot: MDF
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.1
 
Nickdroid86
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 1,253
Join Date: May 2010
I'll have to figure out how to do that, I have no clue about anything about vpn's
 
colorchange
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 107
Join Date: May 2013
If I get tagged before you do, I'll post exactly how I get the VPN up and running.
Phone: ATT i337
Rom: Insane Kit Kat V11
Kernel: Talexop (Tmo - shouldn't work)
Android: 4.4.2
Radio: MK2
Boot: MDF
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.1
The Following User Says Thank You to colorchange For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
R.Suave
Old
#8  
R.Suave's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,103
Posts: 441
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by colorchange View Post
If I get tagged before you do, I'll post exactly how I get the VPN up and running.
Please do. It would be much appreciated
 
shwnr11
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 53
Join Date: Jun 2014
Doesn't matter what you do they'll throttle you down if they consider wrongful usage. Whether it's thru data or tether data. If it shows on your plan, T-Mobile knows about it. The question would be what's the allowed limit?

Sent from my LG-D959 using XDA Free mobile app
 
colorchange
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 107
Join Date: May 2013
I think I have the answer. PDANET+ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I got tagged by Tmo for exceeding my tethering cap and they shut me down. Started fighting with VPN's but after a day, gave up and came across PDAnet+ and tried it. Has been working for two days. The only catch is you have to USB tether, not wifi. You also have to throw the "hide from throttling" switch in the software. So far so good.
Phone: ATT i337
Rom: Insane Kit Kat V11
Kernel: Talexop (Tmo - shouldn't work)
Android: 4.4.2
Radio: MK2
Boot: MDF
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.0.1

The Following User Says Thank You to colorchange For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes