Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,408 Members 53,599 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Moving S4 from Verizon to iwireless/t-mobile

Tip us?
 
sgibbers17
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default [Q] Moving S4 from Verizon to iwireless/t-mobile

Hi,

I am thinking about moving my Galaxy S4 and moto RAZR from Verizon wireless to iwireless (a t-mobile affiliate). I understand that I need to unlock my phone but I am unable to find out if I move it to iwireless if I will still have 4G data. The iwireless sales rep said that I will still have voice and 2.5G service but couldn't tell me if I would still have 4G.

I was looking at this table I found on a site explaining how to unlock the phone but I don't know enough about the subject to make an informed decision.

Samsung Galaxy S4

Can someone confirm whether or not my Verizon S4 or RAZR can be unlocked to work with the iwireless/t-mobile 4G network?
 
jordanjackthomas
Old
(Last edited by jordanjackthomas; 30th August 2014 at 12:06 AM.) Reason: Added info
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 71
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgibbers17 View Post
Hi,

I am thinking about moving my Galaxy S4 and moto RAZR from Verizon wireless to iwireless (a t-mobile affiliate). I understand that I need to unlock my phone but I am unable to find out if I move it to iwireless if I will still have 4G data. The iwireless sales rep said that I will still have voice and 2.5G service but couldn't tell me if I would still have 4G.

I was looking at this table I found on a site explaining how to unlock the phone but I don't know enough about the subject to make an informed decision.

Samsung Galaxy S4

Can someone confirm whether or not my Verizon S4 or RAZR can be unlocked to work with the iwireless/t-mobile 4G network?


It seems as though your grasp of the subject is strong enough to know that it might work as you'd like - and it might not. You need to call back and ask to speak to a CSR that actually knows what bands their service works on so they can give you accurate information. That's kind of their job...

Also -

Verizon LTE operates on Band 13 while T-Mob operates on Band 17, both of which carry completely different spectrums; this means no LTE on either of your unlocked phones.There's a slim possibility that you will get intermittent 3G but the most likely scenario is that you will get talk, text and 2G / 2.5G only.
 
bsliv
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2014
Band 17? My Verizon branded S4 is getting T-Mobile LTE. I'm fairly sure its on band 4.
 
sgibbers17
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2011
T-mobile is band 4 which is 1700/2100 mhz. The Verizon s4 is not capable of 1700mhz. But if you are getting 4G it may be because your area is using 2100 mhz. I am specifically moving to iwireless and I was told they use the 1700 mhz band.

Bsliv, how did you unlock you phone?
 
serio22
Old
#5  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 692
Posts: 2,159
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgibbers17 View Post
Bsliv, how did you unlock you phone?
Many Verizon phones are sim unlocked, so it's most likely unlocked as well
 
bsliv
Old
(Last edited by bsliv; 1st September 2014 at 11:10 PM.) Reason: clarification
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
Many Verizon phones are sim unlocked, so it's most likely unlocked as well
Yes, I think all Verizon LTE capable phones are unlocked.

The I545 (Verizon S4) can receive LTE on band 4. T-Mobile serves LTE on band 4. The coincidence works well.
 
Frankenscript
Old
#7  
Frankenscript's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 189
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Indianapolis Metro
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsliv View Post
Yes, I think all Verizon LTE capable phones are unlocked.

The I545 (Verizon S4) supports LTE on band 4. T-Mobile serves LTE on band 4. The coincidence works well.
My RAZR MAXX HD definitely wasn't SIM unlocked... For the life of me I couldn't get it to work when I moved to ATT from Verizon... Not even GSM would work.
Current Phone:
T-Mo M919 / MDL bootloader / NB4 modem baseband /
Getting Dirty with: Dirty Unicorns


Previous phone:
ATT I337 / NC1 / SafeStrap 3.72 / GoldenEye v36

Other:
ASUS TF701T (rooted stock 4.3)
SAMSUNG Tab2 10.1 WiFi (stock 4.2.2)
SAMSUNG Tab2 10.1 WiFi (SlimKat... awesome!)
 
sgibbers17
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2011
I just need to get some clarification from you guys. Are your VZW phones bought in the US and being in the US on t-mobile's or iwireless's 4g network. Because after I made the first post I went to the phone unlocking place in my local mall and talked to there techs, they said that the VZW S4 will not get 4g. I have also been doing extensive searches online and keep finding half saying it will work and half saying it won't. I have a feeling that the ones that work are working outside of the US as I found posts saying as such.

I read some where that the razr you had to flash the radio FW to get GSM to work properly.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
bsliv
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2014
I got my vzw S4 off craigslist but 99% sure it was purchased in the USA. I'm on T-Mobile's $50/mo plan.

Verizon's LTE phones are sim unlocked due to an agreement with the FCC when vzw purchased some bandwidth.

I think there was an update around 03/2014 that enabled band 4 on the I545. Then had to make some apn changes and tell the modem to use gsm/lte on band 4.

The one quirk I have is it will say "no service" after a reboot and until I make or receive a voice call. Then I get the "T-Mobile" instead of "no service" and things work as they should.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_2014-09-01-14-31-41.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (100.4 KB, 37 views)
 
sgibbers17
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsliv View Post
I got my vzw S4 off craigslist but 99% sure it was purchased in the USA. I'm on T-Mobile's $50/mo plan.



Verizon's LTE phones are sim unlocked due to an agreement with the FCC when vzw purchased some bandwidth.



I think there was an update around 03/2014 that enabled band 4 on the I545. Then had to make some apn changes and tell the modem to use gsm/lte on band 4.



The one quirk I have is it will say "no service" after a reboot and until I make or receive a voice call. Then I get the "T-Mobile" instead of "no service" and things work as they should.

I'll have to go to iwireless and have one of the tech put a SIM card in my s4 and razr to give it a try.

The only options I have for the network mode on my s4 is
Global, LTE/CDMA, and GSM/UMTS. Can you post you settings?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes