Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] A bit of assistance please

1st July 2014, 02:03 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Hi all,

So, I have an I545 with MK2 bootloader. I have been reading how its fairly safe now to go with a KK rom (I had some issues w the rom i was on so right now I have the stock Verizon rom with safestrap 3.72 already installed.

My main concern is that I do not (its on order- my other one got corrupted/inaccessible) have an SDCard to put the new ROM I want on there. Is it possible to place it on the internal storage and still be able to wipe enough of the phone without wiping out the zipped ROM?

And is there any KK ROMS for safestrap that are considered 'more stable' than others that may be a safer bet for me to roll with? Thanks!
1st July 2014, 03:55 PM   |  #2  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,578
 
4,581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by otownmarine

Hi all,

So, I have an I545 with MK2 bootloader. I have been reading how its fairly safe now to go with a KK rom (I had some issues w the rom i was on so right now I have the stock Verizon rom with safestrap 3.72 already installed.

My main concern is that I do not (its on order- my other one got corrupted/inaccessible) have an SDCard to put the new ROM I want on there. Is it possible to place it on the internal storage and still be able to wipe enough of the phone without wiping out the zipped ROM?

And is there any KK ROMS for safestrap that are considered 'more stable' than others that may be a safer bet for me to roll with? Thanks!

You're good to go as far as saving the ROM zip to internal memory. Unless you manually select to wipe Internal Storage you'll be just fine.

As far as what ROMs are more stable that's hard to say since it depends a lot on how you use your phone. I don't run TW ROMs myself ( MDK S4 ) but a I see a lot of people liking Hyperdrive or Echoe... Maybe just flash a couple and see how it goes. You have many options

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
1st July 2014, 04:01 PM   |  #3  
zombolt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
you do not have to wipe your data, just cache and dalvik cache. This applies to upgrading/downgrading between 4.3 to 4.4.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Free mobile app
1st July 2014, 04:30 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Ok, thanks- but isnt there some special steps I have to do in order to do the upgrade? I read an article on it yesterday in the hyperdrive thread (download like 4 different zips, apply using Odin, etc, then flash, which was what ended up causing my initial boot loop) or as long as I have SS 3.72, even on MK2, i should be ok just wiping the cache(s) and installing?
1st July 2014, 06:14 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by otownmarine

Ok, thanks- but isnt there some special steps I have to do in order to do the upgrade? I read an article on it yesterday in the hyperdrive thread (download like 4 different zips, apply using Odin, etc, then flash, which was what ended up causing my initial boot loop) or as long as I have SS 3.72, even on MK2, i should be ok just wiping the cache(s) and installing?

I should clarify- I meant that when going from 4.3 to 4.4 w MK2 / Safestrap. If all that isnt necessary, I'll be a happy individual.
2nd July 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
bump--anyone?
2nd July 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 840
 
2,474 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by otownmarine

bump--anyone?

There are threads and YouTube videos on this stuff... All the info is out there. A stickie thread in general forum gives you links to most of it...

sent via safestrap 3.72 and echo v25.1! !
4th July 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #8  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,592
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by otownmarine

Ok, thanks- but isnt there some special steps I have to do in order to do the upgrade? I read an article on it yesterday in the hyperdrive thread (download like 4 different zips, apply using Odin, etc, then flash, which was what ended up causing my initial boot loop) or as long as I have SS 3.72, even on MK2, i should be ok just wiping the cache(s) and installing?

The quick way there is to flash the NC5 no-wipe ROM from the Android Development forum for this phone. That'll get you to NC5, which you can then root, safestrap, and flash a ROM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes