Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,964 Members 51,994 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] A bit of assistance please

Tip us?
 
otownmarine
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Aug 2007
Question [Q] A bit of assistance please

Hi all,

So, I have an I545 with MK2 bootloader. I have been reading how its fairly safe now to go with a KK rom (I had some issues w the rom i was on so right now I have the stock Verizon rom with safestrap 3.72 already installed.

My main concern is that I do not (its on order- my other one got corrupted/inaccessible) have an SDCard to put the new ROM I want on there. Is it possible to place it on the internal storage and still be able to wipe enough of the phone without wiping out the zipped ROM?

And is there any KK ROMS for safestrap that are considered 'more stable' than others that may be a safer bet for me to roll with? Thanks!
 
Mistertac
Old
#2  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,577
Posts: 3,390
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by otownmarine View Post
Hi all,

So, I have an I545 with MK2 bootloader. I have been reading how its fairly safe now to go with a KK rom (I had some issues w the rom i was on so right now I have the stock Verizon rom with safestrap 3.72 already installed.

My main concern is that I do not (its on order- my other one got corrupted/inaccessible) have an SDCard to put the new ROM I want on there. Is it possible to place it on the internal storage and still be able to wipe enough of the phone without wiping out the zipped ROM?

And is there any KK ROMS for safestrap that are considered 'more stable' than others that may be a safer bet for me to roll with? Thanks!
You're good to go as far as saving the ROM zip to internal memory. Unless you manually select to wipe Internal Storage you'll be just fine.

As far as what ROMs are more stable that's hard to say since it depends a lot on how you use your phone. I don't run TW ROMs myself ( MDK S4 ) but a I see a lot of people liking Hyperdrive or Echoe... Maybe just flash a couple and see how it goes. You have many options

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
zombolt
Old
#3  
zombolt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 249
Join Date: Mar 2011
you do not have to wipe your data, just cache and dalvik cache. This applies to upgrading/downgrading between 4.3 to 4.4.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Free mobile app
 
otownmarine
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Aug 2007
Ok, thanks- but isnt there some special steps I have to do in order to do the upgrade? I read an article on it yesterday in the hyperdrive thread (download like 4 different zips, apply using Odin, etc, then flash, which was what ended up causing my initial boot loop) or as long as I have SS 3.72, even on MK2, i should be ok just wiping the cache(s) and installing?
 
otownmarine
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by otownmarine View Post
Ok, thanks- but isnt there some special steps I have to do in order to do the upgrade? I read an article on it yesterday in the hyperdrive thread (download like 4 different zips, apply using Odin, etc, then flash, which was what ended up causing my initial boot loop) or as long as I have SS 3.72, even on MK2, i should be ok just wiping the cache(s) and installing?
I should clarify- I meant that when going from 4.3 to 4.4 w MK2 / Safestrap. If all that isnt necessary, I'll be a happy individual.
 
otownmarine
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Aug 2007
bump--anyone?
 
decaturbob
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 813
Posts: 2,388
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by otownmarine View Post
bump--anyone?
There are threads and YouTube videos on this stuff... All the info is out there. A stickie thread in general forum gives you links to most of it...

sent via safestrap 3.72 and echo v25.1! !
so long Verizon and my awesome S4 , hello TMO G3
 
k1mu
Old
#8  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,550
Posts: 1,908
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by otownmarine View Post
Ok, thanks- but isnt there some special steps I have to do in order to do the upgrade? I read an article on it yesterday in the hyperdrive thread (download like 4 different zips, apply using Odin, etc, then flash, which was what ended up causing my initial boot loop) or as long as I have SS 3.72, even on MK2, i should be ok just wiping the cache(s) and installing?
The quick way there is to flash the NC5 no-wipe ROM from the Android Development forum for this phone. That'll get you to NC5, which you can then root, safestrap, and flash a ROM.
My Android devices:
vzw Samsung Galaxy S4 stock NC5 rooted
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1, also stock but rooted.

VZ Droid Incredible 2 rooted but otherwise stock.
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more