FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Lost GPS recognition with 4.4.4 AOSP Official Google Edition

25th August 2014, 03:08 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hey Guys,

Recently flashed 4.4.4 AOSP Official Google Edition with towelroot from a factory rooted MDK GS4. Everything working extremely smooth but can not get any device GPS recognition. I don't even know how to trouble shoot the issue. Can someone please advise?

Thanks a lot
 
 
25th August 2014, 03:34 PM |#2  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,703
 
More
Restore a nandroid of a tw rom, get a GPS lock, restore nandroid of the aosp rom in the same place and try to get gps to lock
The Following User Says Thank You to joshm.1219 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 03:53 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

Restore a nandroid of a tw rom, get a GPS lock, restore nandroid of the aosp rom in the same place and try to get gps to lock


Thanks.
Have you had this issue yourself?
Do you know why this happened on upgrade?
Is a CWM backup sufficient?
Is there another related thread you can refer me to.

thanks a lot
25th August 2014, 03:58 PM |#4  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,703
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by technique00

Thanks.
Have you had this issue yourself?
Do you know why this happened on upgrade?
Is a CWM backup sufficient?
Is there another related thread you can refer me to.

thanks a lot

Yes, this is the most common problem with aosp on this device. It is recommended you get a lock on a tw rom before flashing aosp. Once you get that lock once on the aosp rom though, you should never have a problem again. CWM backup is sufficient but i should let you k ow most devs recommend TWRP at this point for our device, it is the most updated.

This is the best method to get a gps lock that works for everybody. A Google search will yield you endless threads on this problem.
The Following User Says Thank You to joshm.1219 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 04:08 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

Yes, this is the most common problem with aosp on this device. It is recommended you get a lock on a tw rom before flashing aosp. Once you get that lock once on the aosp rom though, you should never have a problem again. CWM backup is sufficient but i should let you k ow most devs recommend TWRP at this point for our device, it is the most updated.

This is the best method to get a gps lock that works for everybody. A Google search will yield you endless threads on this problem.

Much appreciated. For the avoidance of doubt, when you say, "Get a lock" it would suffice to go into google maps with location settings on device only and confirm that it recognizes my location/direction, yes? I cant imagine i hadn't used maps with navigation on TW prior to flashing AOSP. Why would this work now if thats all i have to do? Thanks
25th August 2014, 04:12 PM |#6  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,703
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by technique00

Much appreciated. For the avoidance of doubt, when you say, "Get a lock" it would suffice to go into google maps with location settings on device only and confirm that it recognizes my location/direction, yes? I cant imagine i hadn't used maps with navigation on TW prior to flashing AOSP. Why would this work now if thats all i have to do? Thanks

Yeah open maps and make sure it locks you location on device only.

As to why this works? Good luck finding the answer to that question lol no one really understands it but it works. Some respectable devs suspect it's metadata in the system partition, no the "/system" folder ,but the actual partition that takes up ~7gbs of your internal storage that you can't touch.
The Following User Says Thank You to joshm.1219 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 04:22 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

Yeah open maps and make sure it locks you location on device only.

As to why this works? Good luck finding the answer to that question lol no one really understands it but it works. Some respectable devs suspect it's metadata in the system partition, no the "/system" folder ,but the actual partition that takes up ~7gbs of your internal storage that you can't touch.

Okay. Will do as you advise and follow up. Really appreciate the quick feedback regardless, even if this doesn't work.
The Following User Says Thank You to technique00 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 06:19 PM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
This worked Thank you very much. Strange though getting only 14/21 satellites max on AOSP vs up to 20 on TW in same location. Nevertheless I am getting a lock now on AOSP so unless anyone knows how to obtain additional satellites or enhance device GPS here i'm quite satisfied. Thank you.
The Following User Says Thank You to technique00 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes