Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,892 Members 42,714 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

From MDK baseband to KitKat - Clarifications

Tip us?
 
soad1789
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ~Boston, MA
Question From MDK baseband to KitKat - Clarifications

Hi all,

I would really appreciate some clarification as to my situation-- I had a stock MDK build S4, and rooted, installed custom recovery, and then loaded Hyperdrive. Since then I've replaced CWM with TWRP and kept up with Hypderdrive updates up to 17.1.

Coming from MDK, do I have to worry about upgrading my modem / baseband / anything else like that? I'd really appreciate some insight.

Also, what KitKat ROMs are you guys using now? AOSP / AOKP / TW-based, I'm curious as to the other options that exist out there that people seem to be liking.

Thanks in advance.
 
thesoldier
Old
#2  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 847
Join Date: Nov 2012
You don't *have* to update your modem, but generally newer modems are better and more refined. Plus, the newer ones are AWS enabled, so if you have band 4 in your area you should benefit from better LTE speeds. It takes 10 seconds to flash a modem, I say flash until you find the best for you.

---------- Post added at 11:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 PM ----------

Oh and as for ROMs..I'm just using Dan's GPE ROM and use lots of Gravity Box mods. Pretty stable ROM.
 
brizey
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 389
Posts: 1,745
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by soad1789 View Post
Hi all,

I would really appreciate some clarification as to my situation-- I had a stock MDK build S4, and rooted, installed custom recovery, and then loaded Hyperdrive. Since then I've replaced CWM with TWRP and kept up with Hypderdrive updates up to 17.1.

Coming from MDK, do I have to worry about upgrading my modem / baseband / anything else like that? I'd really appreciate some insight.

Also, what KitKat ROMs are you guys using now? AOSP / AOKP / TW-based, I'm curious as to the other options that exist out there that people seem to be liking.

Thanks in advance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesoldier View Post
You don't *have* to update your modem, but generally newer modems are better and more refined. Plus, the newer ones are AWS enabled, so if you have band 4 in your area you should benefit from better LTE speeds. It takes 10 seconds to flash a modem, I say flash until you find the best for you.

---------- Post added at 11:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 PM ----------

Oh and as for ROMs..I'm just using Dan's GPE ROM and use lots of Gravity Box mods. Pretty stable ROM.


Just make sure you only flash the modem only--it is pretty clearly marked in the modem thread in general

+1 on Gravity Box with Dan's ROM. GPE is far and away the smoothest, best performing ROM...proprietary drivers + AOSP leanness = smooth. The only thing I think comes close is Kantjer's SaberMod Slim (its in the international S4 forum general development--it is unified, though, and works fine with our S4).
 
soad1789
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ~Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesoldier View Post
You don't *have* to update your modem, but generally newer modems are better and more refined. Plus, the newer ones are AWS enabled, so if you have band 4 in your area you should benefit from better LTE speeds. It takes 10 seconds to flash a modem, I say flash until you find the best for you.

---------- Post added at 11:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 PM ----------

Oh and as for ROMs..I'm just using Dan's GPE ROM and use lots of Gravity Box mods. Pretty stable ROM.
Quote:
Originally Posted by brizey View Post
Just make sure you only flash the modem only--it is pretty clearly marked in the modem thread in general

+1 on Gravity Box with Dan's ROM. GPE is far and away the smoothest, best performing ROM...proprietary drivers + AOSP leanness = smooth. The only thing I think comes close is Kantjer's SaberMod Slim (its in the international S4 forum general development--it is unified, though, and works fine with our S4).
Thanks for the quick replies guys-- OK, so my current baseband is ME7, to be correct. I'm going to try flashing the developer edition NC5 modem and see how that fares, and I also think I'm going to try Dan's GPE ROM (it's gotta be this one, right? derp) because Hyperdrive does feel a little bloated, and I'm not totally sold on TW-styling.

Do you think I'd expect any issues with TitaniumBackup from my Hyperdrive ROM to Dan's GPE? Apparently, people recommended you to re-install everything after upgrading to KitKat, which I failed to read before doing so... maybe I should take this approach instead of using Titanium to ensure stability. For the most part, Hyperdrive was stable and KitKat has been a noticeable performance improvement, but I was getting hot reboots occasionally.

Thanks again thesoldier and brizey
 
thesoldier
Old
#5  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 847
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by soad1789 View Post
Thanks for the quick replies guys-- OK, so my current baseband is ME7, to be correct. I'm going to try flashing the developer edition NC5 modem and see how that fares, and I also think I'm going to try Dan's GPE ROM (it's gotta be this one, right? derp) because Hyperdrive does feel a little bloated, and I'm not totally sold on TW-styling.

Do you think I'd expect any issues with TitaniumBackup from my Hyperdrive ROM to Dan's GPE? Apparently, people recommended you to re-install everything after upgrading to KitKat, which I failed to read before doing so... maybe I should take this approach instead of using Titanium to ensure stability. For the most part, Hyperdrive was stable and KitKat has been a noticeable performance improvement, but I was getting hot reboots occasionally.

Thanks again thesoldier and brizey
Yup, that's the one. Just make sure you flash the Loki doki zip as well like the instructions say.

I would definitely go in with as little restores as possible, but generally it is fine to restore user apps and NOT system apps, as that will almost always cause an issue. I've restored plenty of user apps + data without issues, but if you do run into any, I'd start over fresh.

Also, I'm running the Dev NC5 modem and so far I feel like it's been the best for me. Just make sure you flash the modem only and not the one with nonhlos.
 
brizey
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 389
Posts: 1,745
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by soad1789 View Post
Thanks for the quick replies guys-- OK, so my current baseband is ME7, to be correct. I'm going to try flashing the developer edition NC5 modem and see how that fares, and I also think I'm going to try Dan's GPE ROM (it's gotta be this one, right? derp) because Hyperdrive does feel a little bloated, and I'm not totally sold on TW-styling.

Do you think I'd expect any issues with TitaniumBackup from my Hyperdrive ROM to Dan's GPE? Apparently, people recommended you to re-install everything after upgrading to KitKat, which I failed to read before doing so... maybe I should take this approach instead of using Titanium to ensure stability. For the most part, Hyperdrive was stable and KitKat has been a noticeable performance improvement, but I was getting hot reboots occasionally.

Thanks again thesoldier and brizey
Re: Titanium...I would restore data on anything that takes a while to set up. Frankly, I just restore everything, apps+data, and 99% of the time I have no issues. Heck, I have even moved games between devices using TiBU with no issues. But for a lot of stuff, the data is kind of irrelevant to restore.

The only issue with Dan's GPE is that some folks have some issues with data. I maybe have to cycle airplane mode once a week. But I am on wifi a ton--we have BYOD guest wifi at work, so I am not super dependent on data.
 
thesoldier
Old
#7  
thesoldier's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 847
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by brizey View Post
Re: Titanium...I would restore data on anything that takes a while to set up. Frankly, I just restore everything, apps+data, and 99% of the time I have no issues. Heck, I have even moved games between devices using TiBU with no issues. But for a lot of stuff, the data is kind of irrelevant to restore.

The only issue with Dan's GPE is that some folks have some issues with data. I maybe have to cycle airplane mode once a week. But I am on wifi a ton--we have BYOD guest wifi at work, so I am not super dependent on data.
Ah that is true, I sometimes have to toggle airplane mode to get data back, but it is rare. For example, I was on the subway last night and when I got off it wouldn't restore my data automatically so I had to cycle airplane mode. Going home though it came back automatically when I got off, so it doesn't happen all the time. Literally the only gripe I have, everything else is great.

Tags
baseband, kitkat, mdk, modem
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more