Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Question about gs4 with an unlocked bootloader

OP wily5150

29th August 2014, 12:37 PM   |  #1  
wily5150's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Holiday, Florida
Thanks Meter: 6
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I have a gs4 with an unlocked bootloader (MDK baseband). The data port on mine went south, so I'm looking for another one on swappa. I found one but the baseband does not have mdk in it. It's rooted with 4.4.4, so I know it has an unlocked bootloader. The phone I have now has the mdk in the baseband. My question is how can this be? I know it's been updated, but I didn't think you could update it without loosing the unlocked bootloader. Thanks
29th August 2014, 01:42 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
658 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2817708
29th August 2014, 02:56 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Webster, NY
Thanks Meter: 34
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wily5150

I have a gs4 with an unlocked bootloader (MDK baseband). The data port on mine went south, so I'm looking for another one on swappa. I found one but the baseband does not have mdk in it. It's rooted with 4.4.4, so I know it has an unlocked bootloader. The phone I have now has the mdk in the baseband. My question is how can this be? I know it's been updated, but I didn't think you could update it without loosing the unlocked bootloader. Thanks


You could try to fix it yourself, or buy a replacement port and find a small electronics repair shop to do it for you...

https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Samsung...lacement/16542

http://www.amazon.com/ePartSolution-...P4H227S5XYBGJ0
29th August 2014, 07:51 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
996 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wily5150

I have a gs4 with an unlocked bootloader (MDK baseband). The data port on mine went south, so I'm looking for another one on swappa. I found one but the baseband does not have mdk in it. It's rooted with 4.4.4, so I know it has an unlocked bootloader. The phone I have now has the mdk in the baseband. My question is how can this be? I know it's been updated, but I didn't think you could update it without loosing the unlocked bootloader. Thanks

Being rooted doesn't mean you have an unlocked bootloader. They are two completely different things. That being said, you should try everything you can to hold on to your MDK phone. They are like gold around here now.

Sent from my NCC-1701 using Tapatalk.
29th August 2014, 10:45 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Riverside, Ca
Thanks Meter: 59
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I've rooted a mek device using towelroot. and it didnt have a unlocked bootloader.So like the above poster said, just cause its rooted doesn't mean its MDK
29th August 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Also, keep in mind that you can't always go by what the build number in About Phone says...cuz even though I have MDK firmware, my build number in the ROM I'm running says that my build number is NE5.

A great tool for determining the ACTUAL firmware/build number is Samsung Phone Info from the Play Store

Keep it kid!
30th August 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #7  
wily5150's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Holiday, Florida
Thanks Meter: 6
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Thanks for your input. I will buy the charge port from the link you provided. I never even thought about fixing it myself. Good job. Thanks again

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes