Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more
Post Reply

[Q] Question about gs4 with an unlocked bootloader

29th August 2014, 11:37 AM   |  #1  
wily5150's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Holiday, Florida
Thanks Meter: 6
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I have a gs4 with an unlocked bootloader (MDK baseband). The data port on mine went south, so I'm looking for another one on swappa. I found one but the baseband does not have mdk in it. It's rooted with 4.4.4, so I know it has an unlocked bootloader. The phone I have now has the mdk in the baseband. My question is how can this be? I know it's been updated, but I didn't think you could update it without loosing the unlocked bootloader. Thanks
29th August 2014, 12:42 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 116
 
640 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2817708
29th August 2014, 01:56 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Webster, NY
Thanks Meter: 27
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wily5150

I have a gs4 with an unlocked bootloader (MDK baseband). The data port on mine went south, so I'm looking for another one on swappa. I found one but the baseband does not have mdk in it. It's rooted with 4.4.4, so I know it has an unlocked bootloader. The phone I have now has the mdk in the baseband. My question is how can this be? I know it's been updated, but I didn't think you could update it without loosing the unlocked bootloader. Thanks


You could try to fix it yourself, or buy a replacement port and find a small electronics repair shop to do it for you...

https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Samsung...lacement/16542

http://www.amazon.com/ePartSolution-...P4H227S5XYBGJ0
29th August 2014, 06:51 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 309
 
979 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wily5150

I have a gs4 with an unlocked bootloader (MDK baseband). The data port on mine went south, so I'm looking for another one on swappa. I found one but the baseband does not have mdk in it. It's rooted with 4.4.4, so I know it has an unlocked bootloader. The phone I have now has the mdk in the baseband. My question is how can this be? I know it's been updated, but I didn't think you could update it without loosing the unlocked bootloader. Thanks

Being rooted doesn't mean you have an unlocked bootloader. They are two completely different things. That being said, you should try everything you can to hold on to your MDK phone. They are like gold around here now.

Sent from my NCC-1701 using Tapatalk.
29th August 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Riverside, Ca
Thanks Meter: 54
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I've rooted a mek device using towelroot. and it didnt have a unlocked bootloader.So like the above poster said, just cause its rooted doesn't mean its MDK
29th August 2014, 10:16 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Also, keep in mind that you can't always go by what the build number in About Phone says...cuz even though I have MDK firmware, my build number in the ROM I'm running says that my build number is NE5.

A great tool for determining the ACTUAL firmware/build number is Samsung Phone Info from the Play Store

Keep it kid!
30th August 2014, 10:47 AM   |  #7  
wily5150's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Holiday, Florida
Thanks Meter: 6
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Thanks for your input. I will buy the charge port from the link you provided. I never even thought about fixing it myself. Good job. Thanks again

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Samsung Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank