Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Secret Code / Hidden Menu tester needed

OP vndnguyen

5th July 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #1  
vndnguyen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hi,

As you may know, you cannot enter the secret codes (e.g. *#0*#, *#0011#, *#27663368378#...) on a device that has not been enabled the HiddenMenu.
I need someone to help me to test if these codes work on your device by using my app: Shortcut Master.

Here is how:
- Install Shortcut Master app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cutmaster.lite
- Go to menu 'Secret Code Explorer', select your desire code (e.g. 0*, 0011, 27663368378, 0228, etc...) and tap to launch it.
- You can select 'Launch 0' or 'Launch 1' to test if it work. 'Launch 0' requires ROOT access.

Please kindly test and feedback. Thanks.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vndnguyen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #2  
biglil1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Westland
Thanks Meter: 177
 
337 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen

Hi,

As you may know, you cannot enter the secret codes (e.g. *#0*#, *#0011#, *#27663368378#...) on a device that has not been enabled the HiddenMenu.
I need someone to help me to test if these codes work on your device by using my app: Shortcut Master.

Here is how:
- Install Shortcut Master app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cutmaster.lite
- Go to menu 'Secret Code Explorer', select your desire code (e.g. 0*, 0011, 27663368378, 0228, etc...) and tap to launch it.
- You can select 'Launch 0' or 'Launch 1' to test if it work. 'Launch 0' requires ROOT access.

Please kindly test and feedback. Thanks.

Just installed did as you said; I opened the app went into menu selected Secret code explorer and used the first option (0*) and it worked with launch 0.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to biglil1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #3  
vndnguyen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglil1

Just installed did as you said; I opened the app went into menu selected Secret code explorer and used the first option (0*) and it worked with launch 0.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2

Great, thank you for your response.

But do you know if your phone has been enabled the HiddenMenu?

Can you dial *#0*# on the phone's dialpad to see if this code works?
Please try also another codes (e.g. *#06# or *#0011#...) by dialing them on the phone's numpad?
5th July 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #4  
biglil1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Westland
Thanks Meter: 177
 
337 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen

Great, thank you for your response.

But do you know if your phone has been enabled the HiddenMenu?

Can you dial *#0*# on the phone's dialpad to see if this code works?
Please try also another codes (e.g. *#06# or *#0011#...) by dialing them on the phone's numpad?

I enabled it by going to efs/carrier/Hiddenmenu and changed OFF to On. You might want to add that to the OP along with making sure that ones ROM has the Hiddenmenu.apk in. As far as i know without this apk you can't access the menu.

Tried all 3 codes and they work.

Edit: Would you like me to change it back to OFF so you can see if your app works without enabling HiddenMenu?

Edit#2: Disable HiddenMenu by changing ON to Off and it worked. Came across some options that didn't. #2 and the last 3. I didn't run through all of them yet just at random. I'll update later on

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
Last edited by biglil1; 5th July 2014 at 08:21 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to biglil1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th July 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #5  
vndnguyen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglil1


Edit: Would you like me to change it back to OFF so you can see if your app works without enabling HiddenMenu?

Yes, that is exactly what I was asking for.

While HiddenMenu is OFF, can you launch the secret codes by dialing on the phone's numpad, and by using Shortcut Master app?


Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
6th July 2014, 04:08 AM   |  #6  
biglil1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Westland
Thanks Meter: 177
 
337 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen


While HiddenMenu is OFF, can you launch the secret codes by dialing on the phone's numpad, and by using Shortcut Master app?


Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk



With HiddenMenu set to OFF the codes will not work using the dial pad. Using Shortcut Master I'm able to access the HiddenMenus with the efs/carrier/HiddenMenu set to OFF and launch 0.
The Following User Says Thank You to biglil1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th July 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #7  
vndnguyen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglil1

With HiddenMenu set to OFF the codes will not work using the dial pad. Using Shortcut Master I'm able to access the HiddenMenus with the efs/carrier/HiddenMenu set to OFF and launch 0.

Great!!!

Thank you sooo much.
Cheers

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
6th July 2014, 05:51 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
This doesn't seem to work on my Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4, unrooted, running Android 4.4.2
The Following User Says Thank You to lowlyworm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2014, 01:55 AM   |  #9  
vndnguyen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowlyworm

This doesn't seem to work on my Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4, unrooted, running Android 4.4.2

Yes, it needs root to launch the secret codes, it's due to Samsung's security policy.

To enable the HiddenMenu, you also need root...


Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
27th July 2014, 05:12 PM   |  #10  
vndnguyen's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
For your convenience, you can download the shortcuts list files and import in to the app.

- Android 4.3 Hidden Shortcuts.rar
- Samsung (Note 3) Hidden Shortcuts.rar

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes