Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,266 Members 41,968 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Secret Code / Hidden Menu tester needed

Tip us?
 
vndnguyen
Old
#1  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 596
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Arrow Secret Code / Hidden Menu tester needed

Hi,

As you may know, you cannot enter the secret codes (e.g. *#0*#, *#0011#, *#27663368378#...) on a device that has not been enabled the HiddenMenu.
I need someone to help me to test if these codes work on your device by using my app: Shortcut Master.

Here is how:
- Install Shortcut Master app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cutmaster.lite
- Go to menu 'Secret Code Explorer', select your desire code (e.g. 0*, 0011, 27663368378, 0228, etc...) and tap to launch it.
- You can select 'Launch 0' or 'Launch 1' to test if it work. 'Launch 0' requires ROOT access.

Please kindly test and feedback. Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to vndnguyen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
biglil1
Old
#2  
biglil1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 297
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westland
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen View Post
Hi,

As you may know, you cannot enter the secret codes (e.g. *#0*#, *#0011#, *#27663368378#...) on a device that has not been enabled the HiddenMenu.
I need someone to help me to test if these codes work on your device by using my app: Shortcut Master.

Here is how:
- Install Shortcut Master app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cutmaster.lite
- Go to menu 'Secret Code Explorer', select your desire code (e.g. 0*, 0011, 27663368378, 0228, etc...) and tap to launch it.
- You can select 'Launch 0' or 'Launch 1' to test if it work. 'Launch 0' requires ROOT access.

Please kindly test and feedback. Thanks.
Just installed did as you said; I opened the app went into menu selected Secret code explorer and used the first option (0*) and it worked with launch 0.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to biglil1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vndnguyen
Old
#3  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 596
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglil1 View Post
Just installed did as you said; I opened the app went into menu selected Secret code explorer and used the first option (0*) and it worked with launch 0.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
Great, thank you for your response.

But do you know if your phone has been enabled the HiddenMenu?

Can you dial *#0*# on the phone's dialpad to see if this code works?
Please try also another codes (e.g. *#06# or *#0011#...) by dialing them on the phone's numpad?
 
biglil1
Old
(Last edited by biglil1; 5th July 2014 at 07:21 PM.)
#4  
biglil1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 297
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westland
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen View Post
Great, thank you for your response.

But do you know if your phone has been enabled the HiddenMenu?

Can you dial *#0*# on the phone's dialpad to see if this code works?
Please try also another codes (e.g. *#06# or *#0011#...) by dialing them on the phone's numpad?
I enabled it by going to efs/carrier/Hiddenmenu and changed OFF to On. You might want to add that to the OP along with making sure that ones ROM has the Hiddenmenu.apk in. As far as i know without this apk you can't access the menu.

Tried all 3 codes and they work.

Edit: Would you like me to change it back to OFF so you can see if your app works without enabling HiddenMenu?

Edit#2: Disable HiddenMenu by changing ON to Off and it worked. Came across some options that didn't. #2 and the last 3. I didn't run through all of them yet just at random. I'll update later on

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to biglil1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vndnguyen
Old
#5  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 596
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglil1 View Post

Edit: Would you like me to change it back to OFF so you can see if your app works without enabling HiddenMenu?
Yes, that is exactly what I was asking for.

While HiddenMenu is OFF, can you launch the secret codes by dialing on the phone's numpad, and by using Shortcut Master app?


Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
biglil1
Old
#6  
biglil1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 297
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westland
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen View Post

While HiddenMenu is OFF, can you launch the secret codes by dialing on the phone's numpad, and by using Shortcut Master app?


Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk


With HiddenMenu set to OFF the codes will not work using the dial pad. Using Shortcut Master I'm able to access the HiddenMenus with the efs/carrier/HiddenMenu set to OFF and launch 0.
The Following User Says Thank You to biglil1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vndnguyen
Old
#7  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 596
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglil1 View Post
With HiddenMenu set to OFF the codes will not work using the dial pad. Using Shortcut Master I'm able to access the HiddenMenus with the efs/carrier/HiddenMenu set to OFF and launch 0.
Great!!!

Thank you sooo much.
Cheers

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
 
lowlyworm
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2010
This doesn't seem to work on my Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4, unrooted, running Android 4.4.2
The Following User Says Thank You to lowlyworm For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vndnguyen
Old
#9  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 596
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowlyworm View Post
This doesn't seem to work on my Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4, unrooted, running Android 4.4.2
Yes, it needs root to launch the secret codes, it's due to Samsung's security policy.

To enable the HiddenMenu, you also need root...


Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes