Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Cool [App/Source] WifiTether for S4

OP TrevE

11th June 2013, 07:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,661
 
2,031 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Donate to Me
As some of you may know I have been added as a project owner for WifiTether. Today we have released new version to both Google Play and the android projects site with full S4 compatibility out of the box. I do not have a S4 just wrote the code to make it automagically work so as always we start with the thanks section to everyone else that has had a hand in helping.

Thanks
Harry - Original owner of WifiTether, helped with a bunch of the s4/API level cleanup and fixing my messy code Awesome guy.
Ziggy471 - For building new ifconfig binary for us, cutting additional busybox support
Eschelon, NxtGenCowboy, Virus - For testing multiple S4 builds and as always being awesome

Configuration:
*Latest Build recommended, these are just a few devices I have tested on*

Setup-Method: (auto should have right defaults, might need to force)
  • Galaxy S4 - Hostapd
  • Galaxy S3 - Netd-ndc with driver reload 2
  • Evo 3d SoftAP with driver reload 2
  • Sensation SoftAP with no driver reloads
  • Evo 4g SoftAP with no driver reloads

Bugs
  • On GS4 if you enable WPA Security you cannot change SSID/Channel without a device reboot. No security applies changes instantly.
  • You might have to toggle stuff on and off once first if you run into errors. I think there's an error on first creation of config
  • If you switch modes between native wifitether and fallback mode (or stock tethering), your phone may spontaneously combust(wifi crashes) after the routing mess that ensues. Just reboot and you'll be all set again.
  • Seems to work better on SuperSU - Probably due to the per-app permissions vs per command.

Feel free to post any other issues/needed enhancements here. You will probably get a quicker answer from me atleast posting on XDA rather than the google code bugs page.

Download
Source: http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...ource/checkout
Compiled APK: (r570 / 06102013) http://code.google.com/p/android-wif...v3_3-beta2.apk

Difference Between Versions
Any apps labeled "-TrevE mod" will be built from my environment. If we have problems or need a quick fix I may build an apk or two not meant for the general public - just for XDA. Harry and I have different keys so you will need to uninstall market versions to use ones that I build and vice versa.
Last edited by TrevE; 11th June 2013 at 07:26 AM.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to TrevE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2013, 07:18 AM   |  #2  
Virus's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer
COLUMBIA
Thanks Meter: 9,363
 
3,947 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Donate to Me
mine
The Following User Says Thank You to Virus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2013, 07:19 AM   |  #3  
eschelon's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,965
 
1,388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
Congrats, TrevE, on becoming project owner of one of the best classic Android apps!
The Following User Says Thank You to eschelon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2013, 10:40 AM   |  #4  
Abolfazl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Carlos, CA
Thanks Meter: 25
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I have a S4 running CM10.1 and I keep on getting "starting hostapd: failed". Is there a reason why?
11th June 2013, 02:39 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
I get a toast message that says tethering has started with errors. When I try to check the log file it says the log file doesn't exist.
11th June 2013, 03:02 PM   |  #6  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,661
 
2,031 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abolfazl

I have a S4 running CM10.1 and I keep on getting "starting hostapd: failed". Is there a reason why?

Most normal JB+ devices use netdndc, it was kinda surprising (to me atleast) that touchwiz used hostapd. Can you try to use Netd(ndc) setup method mode, and possibly check on/off the send max clients command if that doesnt work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmiem

I get a toast message that says tethering has started with errors. When I try to check the log file it says the log file doesn't exist.

Are you using SuperSU instead of superuser.apk?

Also did you try to just turn it off and turn it on again? Very first time using after installing app you might hit a race condition you never will after that.
Last edited by TrevE; 11th June 2013 at 03:06 PM.
11th June 2013, 04:04 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 251
 
1,688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevE

Are you using SuperSU instead of superuser.apk?

Also did you try to just turn it off and turn it on again? Very first time using after installing app you might hit a race condition you never will after that.

i get the same using supersu - i'm on hyperdrive. i've tried all the options mentioned and still getting errors. and of course no logs for some reason - same thing happens with all the versions of wifi tether.

gonna give synergy a run and see how it turns out.

works perfectly on synergy. could be something i did. i only did about 10 min of troubleshooting on hyperdrive b/c i was pretty anxious about trying synergy.
Last edited by madsquabbles; 11th June 2013 at 04:26 PM.
11th June 2013, 04:29 PM   |  #8  
open1your1eyes0's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 3,387
 
2,297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmiem

I get a toast message that says tethering has started with errors. When I try to check the log file it says the log file doesn't exist.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevE

Are you using SuperSU instead of superuser.apk?

Also did you try to just turn it off and turn it on again? Very first time using after installing app you might hit a race condition you never will after that.

Same issue on Verizon Galaxy S4 stock ROM using latest SuperSU. Tried multiple times, on Auto and Samsung Galaxy S4 profile and even rebooted. And when I click to show the log it says the log doesn't exist.
11th June 2013, 08:57 PM   |  #9  
Abolfazl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Carlos, CA
Thanks Meter: 25
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevE

Most normal JB+ devices use netdndc, it was kinda surprising (to me atleast) that touchwiz used hostapd. Can you try to use Netd(ndc) setup method mode, and possibly check on/off the send max clients command if that doesnt work?



Are you using SuperSU instead of superuser.apk?

Also did you try to just turn it off and turn it on again? Very first time using after installing app you might hit a race condition you never will after that.

I would have to switch device profile to the S3. The S4 does not have Netd
12th June 2013, 04:56 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevE

Are you using SuperSU instead of superuser.apk?

Also did you try to just turn it off and turn it on again? Very first time using after installing app you might hit a race condition you never will after that.

Yes, SuperSU, yes turned off and on several times. Even rebooted. Oh, and it's a stock Verizon GS4.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes