MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

Broke my S4's screen/digitizer, what should I do?

26th August 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
318 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Yesterday my Spigen case broke, the little plastic part that surrounds the rest of the case/phone. Of course later that day I dropped my phone and it must have hit right where it was partly exposed, breaking the screen and digitizer.

The phone still boots up and works fine, I just can't get the screen to turn on. I'm actually not sure what exactly is broken, if the screen AND digitizer are busted or just the screen so that it doesn't turn on.

I guess I need to get a screen+digitizer from ebay and try my luck and replacing. I was going to go out today and pay full price for an S5 or LG G3, but now that I'm reading so much about all these new 805 Snapdragon based phones possibly coming, I think I'd rather just wait.

My options are use my old Droid X2, fix the S4 and wait, or just buy a new phone and fix the S4 whenever I feel like it.

On that subject, how do I go about getting my X2 back on as my primary phone with Verizon? I guess I can try to get in a chat with them.
2nd September 2014, 01:49 PM   |  #2  
MadnessEvolved's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
If you have lost display as well, then the digitizer is shot. So you've got to replace the whole unit instead of just the glass. Costly thing, that. I've got an S2 with that issue that isn't with fixing, as it'll still cost around AUD$200 to get a new one. Ideally, I'd get a phone that died from other issues and use it's screen, but that's effort.

I'd probably recommend holding off and getting a new handset. Although the repair may still be worth doing if the parts are cheaper where you are.
2nd September 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #3  
AntaresOne's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in Andromeda Galaxy
Thanks Meter: 2,099
 
945 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
@berfles

AMOLED panel is broken, you can only buy the whole part already assembled (glass+digitizer+panel+bezel+home key/touch keys' leds). Here in Italy (on eBay) costs about 120€ original, and is very very simple to change, you can also look on iFixit guide
2nd September 2014, 02:17 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
you can change it, there are many digitizers to buy on ebay/aliexpress etc
3rd September 2014, 01:24 AM   |  #5  
AntaresOne's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in Andromeda Galaxy
Thanks Meter: 2,099
 
945 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Donate to Me
More
@maciekck

Quote:
Originally Posted by berfles

I just can't get the screen to turn on.


As I previously said, AMOLED screen is broken. I'm a technician and I see this kind of things everyday

Inviato dal mio GT-I9505
3rd September 2014, 01:28 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
318 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Thanks, I've decided to just buy an S5 or G3, no way I'm spending $180 for a screen/digitizer when I can just buy a new phone for less than $100.
3rd September 2014, 09:16 AM   |  #7  
ongbac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by berfles

Thanks, I've decided to just buy an S5 or G3, no way I'm spending $180 for a screen/digitizer when I can just buy a new phone for less than $100.

You mean a clone of S5 or G3?
3rd September 2014, 12:11 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
318 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ongbac

You mean a clone of S5 or G3?

Eh? No, the phone with an upgrade.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank