Post Reply

Upgrading from Android 4.3 to 4.4.. How to?

OP MartK87

25th August 2014, 09:09 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Hi guys.

Wondered how i go about updating my galaxy s4 from Android 4.3 to Android 4.4?

Would it need rooting?

Thank you.

Just wanna add it is a Gi9505
Last edited by MartK87; 25th August 2014 at 09:43 AM.
25th August 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #2  
MAX 404's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Panama / Spain
Thanks Meter: 830
 
1,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartK87

Hi guys.

Wondered how i go about updating my galaxy s4 from Android 4.3 to Android 4.4?

Would it need rooting?

Thank you.

Just wanna add it is a Gi9505



Hi,

Are you talking about upgrade from stock 4.3 to stock 4.4.2? if so there is no need to root , just go to Sammobile.com find the rigght firmware and flash it ( Odin)
The Following User Says Thank You to MAX 404 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Thanks!

On SAM Mobile now.

How do i find out which country the phone belongs to along with knowing the correct firmware to get?

I should note i got the phone from Australia, however i cannot see Australia in the firmware list for GT-I9505.

Thanks

Just an update.

Not sure if its possible to flash to 4.4 because I've just been on SAMMobile.

Clicked on FIRMWARE

Then clicked Check Your Firmware.

Which i did. The phone is unlocked so i just chose vodafone.

Then it directs me to a 2013 update which is android 4.3.

So does that mean i can't get one for 4.4?
Last edited by MartK87; 25th August 2014 at 03:23 PM.
25th August 2014, 03:43 PM   |  #4  
MAX 404's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Panama / Spain
Thanks Meter: 830
 
1,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartK87

Thanks!

On SAM Mobile now.

How do i find out which country the phone belongs to along with knowing the correct firmware to get?

I should note i got the phone from Australia, however i cannot see Australia in the firmware list for GT-I9505.

Thanks

Just an update.

Not sure if its possible to flash to 4.4 because I've just been on SAMMobile.

Clicked on FIRMWARE

Then clicked Check Your Firmware.

Which i did. The phone is unlocked so i just chose vodafone.

Then it directs me to a 2013 update which is android 4.3.

So does that mean i can't get one for 4.4?



Hi mate ,

For Australia seems like the newest firmware is 4. 3 but you can flash a firmware from other " similar" countries like UK , check other countries that you may consider closer to yours

for example
BTU means unbranded


Model: GT-I9505
Model name: GALAXY S4 LTE
Country: United Kingdom
Version: Android 4.4.2
Changelist: 481100
Build date: Fri, 14 Feb 2014 03:15:30 +0000
Product Code: BTU
PDA: I9505XXUFNB9
CSC: I9505BTUFNE1
MODEM: I9505XXUFNB9
CSC: I9505BTUFNE1


Language is similar and if the modem gives you problems ( it should not) you can always flash ( odin) another the only thing you may lose would be maybe any specific carrier service that is on your current carrier rom you have in your phone and your CSC will be from UK ( in this case)
The Following User Says Thank You to MAX 404 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 03:59 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
You can try installing Kies 3 Connecting your phone and see if it promotes an Update
The Following User Says Thank You to egy_b0y For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Ok guys thank you.

So if i were to get the latest UK one. How likely is it my sim would still work in it?

I currently use vodafone in AU and uk also has vodafone. So would i be better off getting a vodafone uk firmware or just an unlocked one?

Cos the s4 is actually unlocked already.

If you could perhaps link me to the correct firmware id really appreciate it. I just really dont wanna screw this up.

Any info you require i can give you. I know for sure it is a GT-I9505 and that it was purchased unlocked in australia.

Thank you.
25th August 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #7  
MAX 404's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Panama / Spain
Thanks Meter: 830
 
1,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartK87

Ok guys thank you.

So if i were to get the latest UK one. How likely is it my sim would still work in it?

I currently use vodafone in AU and uk also has vodafone. So would i be better off getting a vodafone uk firmware or just an unlocked one?

Cos the s4 is actually unlocked already.

If you could perhaps link me to the correct firmware id really appreciate it. I just really dont wanna screw this up.

Any info you require i can give you. I know for sure it is a GT-I9505 and that it was purchased unlocked in australia.

Thank you.


Hi,

Sim will work ok

Your choice vodafone or unbranded should be fine ( unbranded is newer) , unbranded ( no carrier stuff on it) has nothing to do with network lock

http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=30963 (vodafone)

http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/3/?download=31852 ( unbranded)

back up your app , data , contacts , pictures , music and use this app to make a backup of your EFS folder ( there is your imei info) just in case


https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...imunlock&hl=en
The Following User Says Thank You to MAX 404 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 06:03 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Thanks so much for that! Awesome.

And to update it with the uk firmware, do i just refer to this guide?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265477
25th August 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #9  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartK87

Thanks so much for that! Awesome.

And to update it with the uk firmware, do i just refer to this guide?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265477

Boot to download mode
Connect it to your PC
Open Odin3.09
Extract the Firware from Sammy
Click AP and select the firmware.
Hit start
25th August 2014, 06:47 PM   |  #10  
MAX 404's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Panama / Spain
Thanks Meter: 830
 
1,384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartK87

Thanks so much for that! Awesome.

And to update it with the uk firmware, do i just refer to this guide?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265477

hi

they basically say the same ...... there is only one way to flash stock , in your case you do not need to flash the PIT file


from sammobile:

Instructions
Extract (unzip) the firmware file
Download Odin v3.09
Extract Odin zip-file
Open Odin v3.09
Reboot phone in Download Mode (press and hold Home + Power + Volume Down buttons)
Connect phone and wait until you get a blue sign in Odin
Add the firmware file to AP / PDA
Make sure re-partition is NOT ticked
Click the start button, sit back and wait a few minutes

The Following User Says Thank You to MAX 404 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank