Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

SOLVED! Can't flash new firmware i9505

31st August 2014, 06:11 PM   |  #1  
slit's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Hi guys,

I've wrote another thread with no response. Lemme ask like this:

i9505 with 4.3, want to flash to 4.4.2. Problem:
I can't flash any firmware, not by KIES 3 or ODIN. Both give me errors, KIES 3 saying S4 is disconnected and ODIN failing everytime, with and without pit file. Switched USB ports, KNOX is 0x0, System Status CUSTOM? Never touched it (branded).

Phone is working fine in the meantime.

Any help?
Last edited by slit; 2nd September 2014 at 12:39 AM.
1st September 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #2  
slit's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Anybody? At least tell me I can reflash the phone again...
1st September 2014, 09:00 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slit

Hi guys,

I've wrote another thread with no response. Lemme ask like this:

i9505 with 4.3, want to flash to 4.4.2. Problem:
I can't flash any firmware, not by KIES 3 or ODIN. Both give me errors, KIES 3 saying S4 is disconnected and ODIN failing everytime, with and without pit file. Switched USB ports, KNOX is 0x0, System Status CUSTOM? Never touched it (branded).

Phone is working fine in the meantime.

Any help?

Which firmware was the latest on your phone and which one did you try to flash?
Your phone has got an branding, right? Do you want to debrand it or just to update it? Did you want to update with a branded firmware?
What does Odin exactly day in the log?
More information please, then we can help you better.


Gesendet von meinem GT-I9505 mit Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to DarkerTimes For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st September 2014, 09:15 PM   |  #4  
slit's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkerTimes

More information please, then we can help you better.


Gesendet von meinem GT-I9505 mit Tapatalk

Thanks DarkerTimes,

My firmware is i9505XXUEMK9 ver 4.3 Vodafone Spain branded.
I just want to update it to official Vodafone Spain 4.4.2 KitKat , OTA doesn't work anymore because it says my device is modified (which it isn't, at least by me?)
I can't use ODIN anymore because the phone doesn't enter download mode when I press down+menu then power, it used to a few days back tho. This is weird. So I can't tell you what ODIN says, although I remember saying something about bad partition thus I've tried flashing it when download mode worked with and without pit file without results. ODIN always told me FAIL!

Also, SDcard or system file is getting weird these days, it rescans whole library of music and Winamp crashes everytime. Reinstalled it and now it seems to work... storage chips going south?
Last edited by slit; 1st September 2014 at 09:18 PM.
1st September 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #5  
MAX 404's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Panama / Spain
Thanks Meter: 736
 
1,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by slit

Thanks DarkerTimes,

My firmware is i9505XXUEMK9 ver 4.3 Vodafone Spain branded.
I just want to update it to official Vodafone Spain 4.4.2 KitKat , OTA doesn't work anymore because it says my device is modified (which it isn't, at least by me?)
I can't use ODIN anymore because the phone doesn't enter download mode when I press down+menu then power, it used to a few days back tho. This is weird. So I can't tell you what ODIN says, although I remember saying something about bad partition thus I've tried flashing it when download mode worked with and without pit file without results. ODIN always told me FAIL!

Also, SDcard or system file is getting weird these days, it rescans whole library of music and Winamp crashes everytime. Reinstalled it and now it seems to work... storage chips going south?

Hi ,

step by step

Download mode , you said I press down+menu then powe I do it the 3 of them at the same time

Before using Odin kill all kies processes ( task manager), make sure no one is running in the background....

Odin troubleshooting: If Odin accidentally gives you "fail" try the following:
- Repeat procedure.
- Make sure that all actions of Kies are disabled from task manager.
- Change usb port.
- Try another usb cable (make sure it is the original).
- Try another Odin version.
- Uninstall and re-install driver.
- Use pit file.
- Try another computer.


from this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265477



try with a different tar file , try for example the PHE unbranded version of firmware for Spain

http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/1...e=PHE#firmware


Regarding your sdcard ...maybe so much flashing left orphan files all over a good flashing should clear that problem
The Following User Says Thank You to MAX 404 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st September 2014, 11:34 PM   |  #6  
slit's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Hi MAX 404

thanks for your reply

I don't have KIES installed now, I've removed it after a couple fails last week... I've tried everything the guide says beforehand, I've flashed a previously owned S2 a lot of times before. Cable is samsung original, tried different USB ports and my laptop with no success.

Also, how can do a good flashing to clear that SD behaviour? Lost here.
2nd September 2014, 12:40 AM   |  #7  
slit's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
SOLVED! It seems I have a ton of USB ports wrecked EXCEPT one. This worked so far so good.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank