Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more

Nexus Player 5.1 LMY47D Rooted

We recently featured the Nexus Player, Google’s second attempt at a digital media … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Black spots on camera

24th August 2014, 10:53 PM   |  #1  
FPSUsername's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 311
 
1,752 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Ive made some pics and videos and my camera has black spots. I cleaned the window and it still has the spots (look thr attachment)

When i take a picture zoomed the black spots move to its side (like you zoom into a pic and the edges dissapear off the screen because the pic is getting bigger than your screen)

Could this be a dirty camera or do I need a camera replacement for this?
If it is dirty, is there a way how I can open the window from the camera to clean it?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1408917071220.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (49.3 KB, 50 views)
27th August 2014, 10:20 PM   |  #2  
FPSUsername's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 311
 
1,752 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Bump
27th August 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #3  
ShinySide's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag IHB
Thanks Meter: 3,086
 
2,576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreekBlood

Ive made some pics and videos and my camera has black spots. I cleaned the window and it still has the spots (look thr attachment)

When i take a picture zoomed the black spots move to its side (like you zoom into a pic and the edges dissapear off the screen because the pic is getting bigger than your screen)

Could this be a dirty camera or do I need a camera replacement for this?
If it is dirty, is there a way how I can open the window from the camera to clean it?

Question, if you were to smack your phone against your hand hard multiple times do the black spots move from where they were? My first thought would be dirt in the lens. How it got there no idea...or how to get it out...
28th August 2014, 05:48 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Florianópolis
Thanks Meter: 58
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
If the spot doesn't get bigger when you zoom in over it, I think its not due lens but related to the sensor.
28th August 2014, 10:11 AM   |  #5  
FPSUsername's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 311
 
1,752 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinySide

Question, if you were to smack your phone against your hand hard multiple times do the black spots move from where they were? My first thought would be dirt in the lens. How it got there no idea...or how to get it out...

I don't want to break my phone, I smacked it hard against my hand but they don't move.
I can not take apart my phone, 1 screw is extremely tight and I don't want to ruin the screw by trying over and over.

Any idea?

Ps when zooming the spots get bigger, but move out of the screen
Last edited by FPSUsername; 28th August 2014 at 11:44 AM.
28th August 2014, 02:32 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Florianópolis
Thanks Meter: 58
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
So it's dust.

---------- Post added at 10:32 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:30 AM ----------

Changing the camera module looks the best option if you still have warranty.
28th August 2014, 08:30 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag England
Thanks Meter: 19
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
I have a similar problem. I have a couple of dark spots. I have tried taking the cover off the lens and blowing really hard but can't get them to go no matter what. I am really annoyed. The same thing also happened on my S3. I really don't want to claim warranty because I will most probably end up with Knox. There's no way I am risking it being upgraded to Knox firmware.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2014-08-14 18.28.16.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (247.8 KB, 27 views)
Last edited by vpwrf; 28th August 2014 at 08:33 PM.
29th August 2014, 11:42 AM   |  #8  
FPSUsername's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 311
 
1,752 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpwrf

I have a similar problem. I have a couple of dark spots. I have tried taking the cover off the lens and blowing really hard but can't get them to go no matter what. I am really annoyed. The same thing also happened on my S3. I really don't want to claim warranty because I will most probably end up with Knox. There's no way I am risking it being upgraded to Knox firmware.

This. I had this on my s2, I guess that the camera is damaged, the connections to the motherboard. try to open it and clean the connections of the cam to the motherboard. if this won't help, then you would need a camera replacement.
take a look at this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TysDdFGUiGo

I tried this with a cleaning towel and the black spots are still there. I think there is something with my camera.
Last edited by FPSUsername; 29th August 2014 at 12:36 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes