Post Reply

[i9505] Can't turn on wi-fi

OP Geo2160

8th July 2014, 10:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Hello, I just received a used Galaxy S4 and I can't seem to get wi-fi to work. Every time I try to turn it on any other network than my own it simply gets stuck. The only fix that I've tried until now is a factory reset which doesn't really work. The KNOX has already been tripped by the former owner (it's 0x01) and I'm pretty handy with flashing tools like Odin. I've heard about flashing a different "non-HLOS" modem, but I don't really understand which one I should use. I have attached to this post two screenshots of the version, baseband and CSC.

So, what should I do? Should I try a non-HLOS modem? Which one should I use? Is there any way to mess up the EFS that way?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-08-13-13-39.png
Views:	44
Size:	189.3 KB
ID:	2840953   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-08-13-13-54.png
Views:	37
Size:	58.4 KB
ID:	2840954  
9th July 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #2  
Repulsa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Your Mom's crib
Thanks Meter: 2,049
 
1,865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo2160

Hello, I just received a used Galaxy S4 and I can't seem to get wi-fi to work. Every time I try to turn it on any other network than my own it simply gets stuck. The only fix that I've tried until now is a factory reset which doesn't really work. The KNOX has already been tripped by the former owner (it's 0x01) and I'm pretty handy with flashing tools like Odin. I've heard about flashing a different "non-HLOS" modem, but I don't really understand which one I should use. I have attached to this post two screenshots of the version, baseband and CSC.

So, what should I do? Should I try a non-HLOS modem? Which one should I use? Is there any way to mess up the EFS that way?

Download and flash this file via odin.
9th July 2014, 11:18 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repulsa

Download and flash this file via odin.

Unfortunately that did not work. Any other ideas? Should I try a custom ROM? Or can you point me to a stock firmware which doesn't have this issue?

LE: Well, editing the build.prop securestorage line seems to fix it, but since it's not mine, I would prefer a more permanent fix, one that doesn't go away with a factory reset.
Last edited by Geo2160; 9th July 2014 at 12:24 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank