Post Reply

Thumbs up [Q] Change touchwiz drawer icon size 4.4.2 kk

OP monty.gs4

28th December 2014, 11:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Sorry for a noob question.
I am using rooted 4.4.2 kk stock on i9500. Searched everywhere but havent yet found the solution. How to
Increase the icons size in app drawer. I want to keep the stock launcher ie touchwiz.
I like big icons as in ios
28th December 2014, 04:57 PM   |  #2  
Strephon Alkhalikoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 514
 
1,773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Edit the LCD density setting in build.prop.
The Following User Says Thank You to Strephon Alkhalikoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th December 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Cool
Thanks for replying bro... Can you please explain a lil bit..! If it can happen through
Editing building.prop then i reckon its a easy mod.
28th December 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #4  
Strephon Alkhalikoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 514
 
1,773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Sure. In build.prop is a setting labeled "ro.sf.lcd.density". The default setting is 480dpi. Change the DPI setting with a text editor and reboot to make everything on the screen larger or smaller. If you don't want everything to change size when you change the DPI, but do want to make the icons larger, you'll need to use a replacement launcher like Nova or an app like Giganticon.
The Following User Says Thank You to Strephon Alkhalikoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th December 2014, 06:16 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Thanks for quick reply mate.
Well tried it and experimented with value 300. After reboot
Touchwiz stopped and stuck on error loop. Is there any range limitation
Coze subsequently systemui stopped working too.
28th December 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #6  
Strephon Alkhalikoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 514
 
1,773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
You likely did hit a limit. On my old device, which had a stock density of 160, it was possible to go as low as 120 without an issue, and could easily do 240. I personally haven't attempted to change the DPI on the S4 because the icons are plenty large enough as it is.

My personal recommendation is to not bother using the Touchwiz launcher and install Nova instead, rather than playing with DPI settings. Because as I mentioned previously, everything changes size when you change the density. It's not just the icons that will change size, but the text as well.
The Following User Says Thank You to Strephon Alkhalikoi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th December 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Indeed..so its not a exact solution but a workaround. I better
Opt for another launcher than editing this then. Thanks mate
Your tip added a little more to my knowledge base.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes