Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Arrow [Q] Carrier specific GS4 kitkat offical roms

OP kyleblyth

5th July 2014, 11:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Hi, I had unrooted my i9505 and updated to kitkat (02 version). I am actually on the Tesco network and I thought that is what Tesco used. The rom seems fine, along with the network in general but I cannot use any mobile data networks. Does anyone know if this is because of the wrong rom or could this be a different error?

I have searched the forum and internet for a few hours but found nothing related to Tesco GS4 roms! : I used the 02 4.3 one from here and then update via keys to 4.4.2 -

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2265477

Thanks!
Last edited by kyleblyth; 5th July 2014 at 11:28 AM.
5th July 2014, 12:09 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Tesco and o2 share the same network, but they probably have different access point settings. if you go to the tescomobile website or call support they should be able to send you some settings to ensure you have the right APN?

Are you connected to TESCO (it says TESCO in the carrier label when you pull down notifications?) Just also check that in "settings/more networks/mobile networks/access point names" that it relates to tesco and not to o2?
5th July 2014, 12:43 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloris

Tesco and o2 share the same network, but they probably have different access point settings. if you go to the tescomobile website or call support they should be able to send you some settings to ensure you have the right APN?

Are you connected to TESCO (it says TESCO in the carrier label when you pull down notifications?) Just also check that in "settings/more networks/mobile networks/access point names" that it relates to tesco and not to o2?

Started to work through these settings, forgot to try the APN. In a little bit of a pickle at the moment as I tried to flash an unbranded rom via odin and now cant boot the phone..Need to fix with kies it says but its not appearing. Think the APN was the problem when the phone (hopefully) starts working again.

Thanks!
5th July 2014, 12:46 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Fingers Crossed. You should be able to use the unbranded ROM though. The only difference should be the preinstalled apps and maybe some backgrounds/branding on the boot logo etc?
5th July 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloris

Fingers Crossed. You should be able to use the unbranded ROM though. The only difference should be the preinstalled apps and maybe some backgrounds/branding on the boot logo etc?

All fixed and found the App on the Internet! Thanks again
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy s4 4.4.2, kitkat 4.4.2, kitkat update
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes