Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,079 Members 50,552 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Network continuallly disconnecting on i9505

Tip us?
 
knuckles1978
Old
(Last edited by knuckles1978; 24th July 2014 at 11:44 PM.) Reason: Solved!!!!! Read post #3
#1  
knuckles1978's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 889
Join Date: Aug 2012
Tonight I installed KitKat 4.4.4 (tried 2 different 4.4.4 roms) on an i9505 which was previously running jelly bean (stock, touchwiz).

The phone network keeps disconnecting on it. If I go into wireless and networks/more/mobile networks/network operators and select my provider through there, it will connect and work fine for a while, but will then disconnect itself again randomly. The IMEI is all fine. This is the first time i've really been stuck with a problem, and i've been flashing roms on multiple phones for a long time.

Why would it be working, but keep disconnecting itself? So annoying..

Anyone able to give me some help here please? Would really be much appreciated, thanks..
 
knuckles1978
Old
(Last edited by knuckles1978; 24th July 2014 at 12:28 AM.)
#2  
knuckles1978's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 889
Join Date: Aug 2012
Just thought....

My mate whose phone it is has gone away so I won't be able to try this until tomorrow, but maybe it's not a UK baseband on it..

I'm sure I've used basebands before though that weren't specifically for my country on other galaxy phones, but it's a good possibility do you think? I didn't think it could cause that, until now..

I can't believe I never thought of trying that at the time, I'll find out if that is the problem tomorrow.
 
knuckles1978
Old
(Last edited by knuckles1978; 25th July 2014 at 02:31 AM.)
#3  
knuckles1978's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 889
Join Date: Aug 2012
Solved!!

For anyone experiencing the same problem...

Flash a baseband which is specifically for your country with Odin - WITH AUTO REBOOT UNCHECKED

take battery out. Boot into download mode. Flash the same baseband again. For some reason if you only flash it once and leave reboot checked it doesn't work.

Phone will boot, and you will find that the problem is fixed.

Hope this helps someone else avoid the **** that I encountered.

Thanks!
 
neo7369
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by knuckles1978 View Post
Solved!!

For anyone experiencing the same problem...

Flash a baseband which is specifically for your country with Odin - WITH AUTO REBOOT UNCHECKED

take battery out. Boot into download mode. Flash the same baseband again. For some reason if you only flash it once and leave reboot checked it doesn't work.

Phone will boot, and you will find that the problem is fixed.

Hope this helps someone else avoid the **** that I encountered.

Thanks!
Works I have this problem with GOLDENEYE ROM with XXUAME2_MODEM. For my (I from Poland) work with I9505XXUGNF1_MODEM.
Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to neo7369 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
1eyedmonster
Old
#5  
1eyedmonster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 492
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: north wales
Can you post a link to the baseband page pal

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Current Devices

Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy S 4
xperia z
Ouya
Minix neo G5

Devices Laid to Rest

Sony Erricsson Xperia X10i (RIP)
Samsung Nexus S
Samsung Galaxy S Plus
Samsung Galaxy S 2
Samsung Galaxy S 3
 
MAX 404
Old
#6  
MAX 404's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 700
Posts: 1,161
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Panama / Spain
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1eyedmonster View Post
Can you post a link to the baseband page pal

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Hi,

This is great thread with a huge collection , including wif fix for the I9505

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2192025
Read before doing
Search before asking
Don’t just say thanks if the information was useful, hit thanks too……

Omega one of the last good roms for the I9500 keep it alive , DONATE , your phone will thank you ....

The Following User Says Thank You to MAX 404 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
1eyedmonster
Old
#7  
1eyedmonster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 492
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: north wales
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAX 404 View Post
Hi,

This is great thread with a huge collection , including wif fix for the I9505

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2192025
Cheers pal but I'm lost so many to choose from im based in the uk on Vodafone any help is appreciated

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Current Devices

Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy S 4
xperia z
Ouya
Minix neo G5

Devices Laid to Rest

Sony Erricsson Xperia X10i (RIP)
Samsung Nexus S
Samsung Galaxy S Plus
Samsung Galaxy S 2
Samsung Galaxy S 3
 
MAX 404
Old
(Last edited by MAX 404; 25th July 2014 at 09:14 PM.)
#8  
MAX 404's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 700
Posts: 1,161
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Panama / Spain
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1eyedmonster View Post
Cheers pal but I'm lost so many to choose from im based in the uk on Vodafone any help is appreciated

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Hi mate ,

read the OP

Please use this Samsung Firmware checker to see what is your LETTER CODE

If you do and follow the link and fill in the info , it will tell you, that for Vodafone UK:

PDA: I9505XXUGNE8
CSC: I9505VFGGNE2
MODEM: I9505XXUGNE8
Added: 2014-06-16

In post 1 of the link i gave you you will find it

Read this post also it helps to understand what is going up

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2549

Cheers
Read before doing
Search before asking
Don’t just say thanks if the information was useful, hit thanks too……

Omega one of the last good roms for the I9500 keep it alive , DONATE , your phone will thank you ....

The Following User Says Thank You to MAX 404 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
1eyedmonster
Old
#9  
1eyedmonster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 492
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: north wales
Thanks a lot pal reflashed the modem twice with auto reboot unchecked and so far no connection lost on Myba rom Thanks a million

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Current Devices

Nexus 7
Samsung Galaxy S 4
xperia z
Ouya
Minix neo G5

Devices Laid to Rest

Sony Erricsson Xperia X10i (RIP)
Samsung Nexus S
Samsung Galaxy S Plus
Samsung Galaxy S 2
Samsung Galaxy S 3
The Following User Says Thank You to 1eyedmonster For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
knuckles1978
Old
#10  
knuckles1978's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 889
Join Date: Aug 2012
Nice to see this thread has helped a few people.

I was scratching my head for a while with that problem, and I'd consider myself pretty experienced with android and flashing ROMs.

I was searching the net, and I found forum posts of people saying they had the same problem, I even found posts that said SOLVED!!! in them, with no explanation as to how it was solved lol. Great help.

Anyways, peace all.

And 1eyedmonster, just gimme a shout if you want the one I used and I'll send you it, or pm me your gmail add, whatever..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes