Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,261 Members 37,824 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] no OS detected, AT&T galaxy S4. Please help.

Tip us?
 
sinndissension
Old
#1  
sinndissension's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 172
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default [Q] no OS detected, AT&T galaxy S4. Please help.

So i have a rooted AT&T samsung galaxy S4, and tried flashing pacrom 4.4 and afterwards, ot says no OS detected when i try to reboot. I had a Nandroid backup, but when i tried restoring it, i got the error message, " cant mount system", and now i can get it to boot up. Ive done this with a nexus 4, and the nexus root toolkit fixed it, but how do i fix this with the galaxy s4????!
 
Lennyz1988
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 1,703
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinndissension View Post
So i have a rooted AT&T samsung galaxy S4, and tried flashing pacrom 4.4 and afterwards, ot says no OS detected when i try to reboot. I had a Nandroid backup, but when i tried restoring it, i got the error message, " cant mount system", and now i can get it to boot up. Ive done this with a nexus 4, and the nexus root toolkit fixed it, but how do i fix this with the galaxy s4????!
If you have a locked bootloader then you can't flash it. From the Q&A from the thread.

Q. Can we flash this on Locked Bootloader?
A. No, This requires custom kernel and can never be flashed on locked bootloaders.
Current:

Samsung Galaxy S 4 I9505 | WanamLite v3.0

Retired:

Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 : AOKP 4.2.1
HTC Touch Pro2 | ROM: Valkyrie 6.5.23115TR2.5
HTC HD2 | DarkStone1337 [FroyoStone Sense - V3.2]
HTC Desire : Oxygen v2.1.3
 
sinndissension
Old
#3  
sinndissension's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 172
Join Date: Sep 2013
It used to show a lock that was unlocked when it booted up. I know on the nexus 4, that indicated the bootloader was unlocked.
Anyway, could you point me in the right direction on how to get the OS back on there so ot boots up again??
 
Lennyz1988
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 1,703
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
I think you just need to flash a stock firmware with Odin.
Current:

Samsung Galaxy S 4 I9505 | WanamLite v3.0

Retired:

Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 : AOKP 4.2.1
HTC Touch Pro2 | ROM: Valkyrie 6.5.23115TR2.5
HTC HD2 | DarkStone1337 [FroyoStone Sense - V3.2]
HTC Desire : Oxygen v2.1.3
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes