Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,687 Members 40,300 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] New Phone and Re-Rooting

Tip us?
 
Caffeinatrix
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 31
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tampa
Default [Q] New Phone and Re-Rooting

So I'm going to be getting a new phone here soon (the replacement is in the mail, the power button shorted out on this one) so I'm going to need to re-root and stuff. My question is kinda stupid. I'm assuming if I make a full backup of my phone right now and flash it on the new phone, it's not going to do the rooting stuff, right?

Like I said, stupid question but it's all software in my head so I wanna make sure before I go through the whole rooting process and such xP
 
Lennyz1988
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 224
Posts: 1,705
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
If you backup is rooted, then when you restore it's also rooted.
Current:

Samsung Galaxy S 4 I9505 | WanamLite v3.0

Retired:

Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 : AOKP 4.2.1
HTC Touch Pro2 | ROM: Valkyrie 6.5.23115TR2.5
HTC HD2 | DarkStone1337 [FroyoStone Sense - V3.2]
HTC Desire : Oxygen v2.1.3
The Following User Says Thank You to Lennyz1988 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Caffeinatrix
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 31
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tampa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lennyz1988 View Post
If you backup is rooted, then when you restore it's also rooted.
Awesome! I thought I might have to go through the whole root process to make anything work. Thank you!!
Tags
flashing a rom, rooting
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes