Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,856 Members 39,011 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [PROB] my i9500 shows up as i337 in download mode

Tip us?
 
Dadbeh
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Berea
Default [Q] [PROB] my i9500 shows up as i337 in download mode

this is driving me bunkers. so i buy an unlocked i9500 in eBay from hongkong and everywhere on the box and on the phone itself it says i9500
but in download mode it shows up as SGH-i337 and also upon using the phone (stock) it randomly asks me to sync my AT&T contacts.

the SIM card that i used is not even AT&T. and also my attempt to install CWM via odin failed.
 
Dadbeh
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Berea
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadbeh View Post
this is driving me bunkers. so i buy an unlocked i9500 in eBay from hongkong and everywhere on the box and on the phone itself it says i9500
but in download mode it shows up as SGH-i337 and also upon using the phone (stock) it randomly asks me to sync my AT&T contacts.

the SIM card that i used is not even AT&T. and also my attempt to install CWM via odin failed.
the baseband version is I9500XXUEMJ9
i really dont understand this. why odin fails then?
 
@SidDev
Old
#3  
@SidDev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 175
Posts: 365
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kolkata
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadbeh View Post
the baseband version is I9500XXUEMJ9
i really dont understand this. why odin fails then?
I guess your phone is not genuine.
it might have been packed in different package.
maybe.
happy to help you .
 
Dadbeh
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Berea
Quote:
Originally Posted by @SidDev View Post
I guess your phone is not genuine.
it might have been packed in different package.
maybe.
you mean its not samsung made? as in its a chinese fake? lol i dont think so. it just looks too normal for that
 
Lennyz1988
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 1,688
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
You have an i337. It's simple as that. You have probably a rom installed that's based on a i9500 rom. So nothing to worry, you just need to look in the i337 section.
Current:

Samsung Galaxy S 4 I9505 | WanamLite v3.0

Retired:

Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 : AOKP 4.2.1
HTC Touch Pro2 | ROM: Valkyrie 6.5.23115TR2.5
HTC HD2 | DarkStone1337 [FroyoStone Sense - V3.2]
HTC Desire : Oxygen v2.1.3
 
lolo9393
Old
#6  
lolo9393's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 427
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Marne la Vallée
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadbeh View Post
you mean its not samsung made? as in its a chinese fake? lol i dont think so. it just looks too normal for that
Best to be sure get PHONE INFO for Samsung phone apk from playstore and get true infos about your model from it!
 
Dadbeh
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Berea
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolo9393 View Post
Best to be sure get PHONE INFO for Samsung phone apk from playstore and get true infos about your model from it!


i did just now, it says its a i9500
 
Dadbeh
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Berea
ok this is just bizzare. so installing PHONE INFO SAMSUNG i get these:

phone model: i9500
device type: jflteatt
product name: jflteuc
boot loader version: i337ucuemk2
pda version: i9500xxuemj9
 
lolo9393
Old
#9  
lolo9393's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 427
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Marne la Vallée
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadbeh View Post
i did just now, it says its a i9500
once you are sure (check also what FW version you have) you can flash I9500 cwm with odin.
Odin has nothing to do with what is already installed. (expected your drivers are well installed). CWM can be pushed in.
 
Lennyz1988
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 221
Posts: 1,688
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Netherlands
If download mode says that you have an i337 then you have an i337.
Current:

Samsung Galaxy S 4 I9505 | WanamLite v3.0

Retired:

Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 : AOKP 4.2.1
HTC Touch Pro2 | ROM: Valkyrie 6.5.23115TR2.5
HTC HD2 | DarkStone1337 [FroyoStone Sense - V3.2]
HTC Desire : Oxygen v2.1.3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes