Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more
Post Reply

[Q] [PROB] my i9500 shows up as i337 in download mode

21st August 2014, 07:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Berea
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
this is driving me bunkers. so i buy an unlocked i9500 in eBay from hongkong and everywhere on the box and on the phone itself it says i9500
but in download mode it shows up as SGH-i337 and also upon using the phone (stock) it randomly asks me to sync my AT&T contacts.

the SIM card that i used is not even AT&T. and also my attempt to install CWM via odin failed.
21st August 2014, 07:17 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Flag Berea
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadbeh

this is driving me bunkers. so i buy an unlocked i9500 in eBay from hongkong and everywhere on the box and on the phone itself it says i9500
but in download mode it shows up as SGH-i337 and also upon using the phone (stock) it randomly asks me to sync my AT&T contacts.

the SIM card that i used is not even AT&T. and also my attempt to install CWM via odin failed.

the baseband version is I9500XXUEMJ9
i really dont understand this. why odin fails then?
21st August 2014, 07:52 AM   |  #3  
@SidDev's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kolkata
Thanks Meter: 201
 
388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadbeh

the baseband version is I9500XXUEMJ9
i really dont understand this. why odin fails then?

I guess your phone is not genuine.
it might have been packed in different package.
maybe.
21st August 2014, 08:00 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Berea
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by @SidDev

I guess your phone is not genuine.
it might have been packed in different package.
maybe.

you mean its not samsung made? as in its a chinese fake? lol i dont think so. it just looks too normal for that
21st August 2014, 08:35 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 245
 
1,755 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
You have an i337. It's simple as that. You have probably a rom installed that's based on a i9500 rom. So nothing to worry, you just need to look in the i337 section.
21st August 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #6  
lolo9393's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marne la Vallée
Thanks Meter: 102
 
429 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadbeh

you mean its not samsung made? as in its a chinese fake? lol i dont think so. it just looks too normal for that

Best to be sure get PHONE INFO for Samsung phone apk from playstore and get true infos about your model from it!
21st August 2014, 01:43 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Berea
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolo9393

Best to be sure get PHONE INFO for Samsung phone apk from playstore and get true infos about your model from it!



i did just now, it says its a i9500
21st August 2014, 02:46 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Berea
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
ok this is just bizzare. so installing PHONE INFO SAMSUNG i get these:

phone model: i9500
device type: jflteatt
product name: jflteuc
boot loader version: i337ucuemk2
pda version: i9500xxuemj9
21st August 2014, 02:58 PM   |  #9  
lolo9393's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marne la Vallée
Thanks Meter: 102
 
429 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadbeh

i did just now, it says its a i9500

once you are sure (check also what FW version you have) you can flash I9500 cwm with odin.
Odin has nothing to do with what is already installed. (expected your drivers are well installed). CWM can be pushed in.
21st August 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 245
 
1,755 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
If download mode says that you have an i337 then you have an i337.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank