HTC M9 S-OFF In Less Than 24 Hours – No ETA On Release

HTC devices are no stranger to XDA’s Senior Recognized Developers … more

April Fools Round Up: The Year of Nostalgia

April Fools Day is once again upon us and as usual, tech companies everywhere have not … more

Android 5.1 OTA for Nexus Round-Up

The beginning of April is dominated by April Fools. There are jokes and pranks everywhere, which are … more

Official Lollipop for LG G2 Captured

LG is rolling out the Lollipop update for the LG G2. KDZ images for both 16 GB and 32 GB variants … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Rooted but can't flash recovery

26th August 2014, 09:10 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Hi,

I have the samsung s4 (GT-i9505) and from what I can tell (from SuperSU) I have it rooted. However I cannot flash
clockwork recovery for some reason.

ROM manager states that the current recovery is ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7, yet when I try to reboot into recovery, I get the standard recovery screen and not the clockwork mod recovery.

I used heimdall flash --RECOVERY recovery.img --CACHE cache.img.ext4 to root the phone and unfortunately (as I am on OSX) I can't use odin. Any thoughts on how I can get clockwork recovery mod working?

Thanks in advance!

Nakomi
26th August 2014, 09:12 PM |#2  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Behind you :D
Thanks Meter: 1,732
 
1,107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakomi

Hi,

I have the samsung s4 (GT-i9505) and from what I can tell (from SuperSU) I have it rooted. However I cannot flash
clockwork recovery for some reason.

ROM manager states that the current recovery is ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7, yet when I try to reboot into recovery, I get the standard recovery screen and not the clockwork mod recovery.

I used heimdall flash --RECOVERY recovery.img --CACHE cache.img.ext4 to root the phone and unfortunately (as I am on OSX) I can't use odin. Any thoughts on how I can get clockwork recovery mod working?

Thanks in advance!

Nakomi

Odin is very very very usefull. So maybe install virtualbox with windows in it? It will help you 100%
26th August 2014, 09:18 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tkkg1994

Odin is very very very usefull. So maybe install virtualbox with windows in it? It will help you 100%

I tried to get it working with virtualbox, but no matter what I tried (installing drivers, messing about with USB passthrough) I could never get odin to recognise my phone
26th August 2014, 09:29 PM |#4  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Behind you :D
Thanks Meter: 1,732
 
1,107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakomi

I tried to get it working with virtualbox, but no matter what I tried (installing drivers, messing about with USB passthrough) I could never get odin to recognise my phone

But when you normal start your phone and connect it to your Mac, than virtualbox shows the Galaxy S4 and recognize it in kies?
26th August 2014, 09:58 PM |#5  
LironImaN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Use Odin from another computer, like friend's computer.
Last edited by LironImaN; 26th August 2014 at 10:03 PM.
27th August 2014, 02:14 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Okay, so I installed windows on another laptop and got odin working. After odin completes "successfully" I still can't access clockwork mod recovery.

The phone has been rooted but I still get the stock recovery screen when I enter recovery mode.

Any thoughts?
27th August 2014, 07:08 AM |#7  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Behind you :D
Thanks Meter: 1,732
 
1,107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakomi

Okay, so I installed windows on another laptop and got odin working. After odin completes "successfully" I still can't access clockwork mod recovery.

The phone has been rooted but I still get the stock recovery screen when I enter recovery mode.

Any thoughts?

Uncheck Auto Reboot. should work fine

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes