Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Rooted but can't flash recovery

OP nakomi

26th August 2014, 10:10 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Hi,

I have the samsung s4 (GT-i9505) and from what I can tell (from SuperSU) I have it rooted. However I cannot flash
clockwork recovery for some reason.

ROM manager states that the current recovery is ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7, yet when I try to reboot into recovery, I get the standard recovery screen and not the clockwork mod recovery.

I used heimdall flash --RECOVERY recovery.img --CACHE cache.img.ext4 to root the phone and unfortunately (as I am on OSX) I can't use odin. Any thoughts on how I can get clockwork recovery mod working?

Thanks in advance!

Nakomi
26th August 2014, 10:12 PM   |  #2  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakomi

Hi,

I have the samsung s4 (GT-i9505) and from what I can tell (from SuperSU) I have it rooted. However I cannot flash
clockwork recovery for some reason.

ROM manager states that the current recovery is ClockworkMod 6.0.4.7, yet when I try to reboot into recovery, I get the standard recovery screen and not the clockwork mod recovery.

I used heimdall flash --RECOVERY recovery.img --CACHE cache.img.ext4 to root the phone and unfortunately (as I am on OSX) I can't use odin. Any thoughts on how I can get clockwork recovery mod working?

Thanks in advance!

Nakomi

Odin is very very very usefull. So maybe install virtualbox with windows in it? It will help you 100%
26th August 2014, 10:18 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tkkg1994

Odin is very very very usefull. So maybe install virtualbox with windows in it? It will help you 100%

I tried to get it working with virtualbox, but no matter what I tried (installing drivers, messing about with USB passthrough) I could never get odin to recognise my phone
26th August 2014, 10:29 PM   |  #4  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakomi

I tried to get it working with virtualbox, but no matter what I tried (installing drivers, messing about with USB passthrough) I could never get odin to recognise my phone

But when you normal start your phone and connect it to your Mac, than virtualbox shows the Galaxy S4 and recognize it in kies?
26th August 2014, 10:58 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Use Odin from another computer, like friend's computer.
Last edited by LironImaN; 26th August 2014 at 11:03 PM.
27th August 2014, 03:14 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Okay, so I installed windows on another laptop and got odin working. After odin completes "successfully" I still can't access clockwork mod recovery.

The phone has been rooted but I still get the stock recovery screen when I enter recovery mode.

Any thoughts?
27th August 2014, 08:08 AM   |  #7  
Tkkg1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 235
 
410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakomi

Okay, so I installed windows on another laptop and got odin working. After odin completes "successfully" I still can't access clockwork mod recovery.

The phone has been rooted but I still get the stock recovery screen when I enter recovery mode.

Any thoughts?

Uncheck Auto Reboot. should work fine

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes