Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Is 1.5gb of RAM enough?

OP corvus.corax

21st August 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #1  
corvus.corax's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 203
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
I hope this isn't a dumb question. I am thinking of moving from my S2 (running custom 4.4.4 ROM) to the S5 mini, but I am wondering if 1.5gb is really enough RAM? On the S2, I had to repartition the 2gb to 4gb - though that was before I went from 4.1.2 to 4.4.x.
22nd August 2014, 04:53 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
with the stock samsung android rom the ram is nearly full up to 85-90%....
but let's wait for root & CM. i think then it will be better with the ram usage
24th August 2014, 05:25 PM   |  #3  
corvus.corax's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 203
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
t think when ART becomes the default runtime, only 1.5gb RAM will really be a problem as it uses about 20% more than dalvik. If I were in charge at Samsung I'd have made the S5 with 3gb, the S5 mini with 2gb, and given the Alpha an sdcard slot. I hate how they keep micro-fragmenting their offerings. On that one issue, they could take a big lesson from Apple (boooo hissss).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes