Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[modem][canadian][g900w8][nf3]

OP omegajester

9th July 2014, 05:00 AM   |  #1  
omegajester's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Carpathia
Thanks Meter: 132
 
486 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
This is the brand new modem, recently released for out beloved Canadian S5's. This is NOT a flashable modem, merely the NF3 modem all rar'ed up; just download it, extract it, and flash it via PHONE on Odin 3.09, and you should be golden. If it does not stick, remove the battery for 15 seconds, and get into Download mode via the usual button combinations, then flash away.


G900W8_NF3_MODEM


The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to omegajester For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th July 2014, 10:27 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Anyone try this yet? Any improvement or issues?

Sent from my SM-G900F using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
10th July 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #3  
thatsupnow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vernon
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,790 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Tried flashing 4-5 times didn't stick

Sent from my SM-G900F using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
10th July 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
IT WORKED !!!

So I tried 4 times and still it would not take.
Took out the battery for 3 minutes, immediately went into download mode,
used Odin v3.09, put the file into CP and clicked start.

Booted and it stuck.

No idea if there is any improvement, but I'm hoping it will bring my LTE signal back to where my S4 was.
At home I could get LTE on the lower level with the S4 but not with the S5. I guess I'll know tonight, fingers crossed.
11th July 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
update: no better signal strength than before the update
14th July 2014, 03:36 AM   |  #6  
omegajester's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Carpathia
Thanks Meter: 132
 
486 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Odd, I'm getting a -10 signal improvement on my device (give or take)

Sent from my Frankenstein S5
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes